Offaly Minor Footballers bow out of Championship

November 8, 2018

Offaly minor footballers bowed out of the championship with a 1-14 to 1-12 defeat to Connacht champions Mayo in the All-Ireland Quarter-final at Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon.
After the disappointment of the Leinster final, Offaly restored some pride with a competitive display and they were in touch until the very end. Backed by the wind in the first half, Offaly hit three early points, but then conceded 1-2. Even so, they bounced back to lead 1-8 to 1-6 at the interval, with the goal scored shortly before the break by Noel Andrew Graham.
In the second half, Offaly held out bravely against the elements, but with Cillian O’Connor firing over late points, Ken Kellaghan’s charges had to settle for defeat.
Offaly: Matt Carragher; Conor Lowry, Eoin Rigney, Cian Donohoe; Stephen Hannon, Declan Hogan, Joe O’Connor; Noel Andrew Graham, Derek Kelly; Peter Cunningham, Pat Camon, John Flattery; Paul McPadden, Stuart Cullen, Barry Cushen.
Subs Used: Johnny Brickland, Thomas Mooney, Jason Gethings.