Official opening of clubhouse a great success.

November 8, 2018

The official opening of our newly refurbished clubhouse at Woodside took place on Sunday, 17 June, and was a great success. The sun shone, there was a huge crowd and there was something for everyone. The older age groups enjoyed meeting up with their former team-mates and looking at the vast array of photos and memorabilia in the clubhouse while youngsters aged 5 to 55 were busy playing games out on the pitches. The club would like to say a special thanks to Carlow footballers, John Murphy, Paul Broderick and Robbie Molloy for coming along on the day and signing countless autographs and jerseys.

MC for the event, Jim Whelan, opened proceedings by welcoming the communities of Hacketstown and Clonmore whose generosity over many years has made it possible for the club to provide state of the art facilities for our youth. Jim also welcomed all the former players and officers of the club, saying that they are the people who kept the club going down through the years and made Clonmore GFC the great club it is today. "This is your day" Jim said. Among the former players who attended were John Nelson (1950 Junior Championship winning team), Tom Looby and Pat Duffy (1955/56 Senior Championship winning teams), Tom Kehoe (1958, 63 & 65 SFC final teams), Tom & Jim Boland (1963 & 65 SFC final teams), Harry Pollard (1962 Minor final team)  and Tan & Bish Kacperski, Liam Butler, Declan McCarthy, Frank Donnelly, Mick Byrne and Larry O'Brien who played in the late sixties and early seventies.

There were speeches made by James Doyle, Chairman, Clonmore GFC; Sean Campion, Chairman, Carlow County Board; Jim Bolger, Chairman of Leinster Council and John Horan, President of the GAA. 

The formal unveiling of a plaque and opening of the clubhouse was performed by John Horan and Jim Bolger, followed by the blessing of the clubhouse by Father Terence McGovern CC, Hacketstown. 

PHOTO: Left to right:, Sean Campion, Chairman, Carlow County Board, John Horan, GAA President, Jim Bolger, Chairman Leinster Council and James Doyle, Chairman, Clonmore GFC after the unveiling of the plaque on 17-6-18.