Olafs David Byrne stars for the Dubs in Minor semi final win

November 8, 2018

Goals crucials as minor footballers book final place

02 Sep 2012 |

DUBLIN 3-12 KERRY 1-10

Dublin’s minor footballers are through to the All-Ireland MFC final after overcoming a battling Kerry in Sunday’s semi-final at Croke Park.

The Dubs face Meath in the final – who they defeated in the Leinster final but the young Dubs would need to by wary against an improving Royal side who were disgusted with their display in the provincial decider.

Dublin need only recall the 2003 All-Ireland MFC final when the Dubs were defeated in the final replay by a Laois team they have overcome in the provincial decider.

Dublin were lively from the off and Conor McHugh’s goal in the fifth minute following good approach play from Niall Scully set the standard for an enterprising opening.

Two minutes earlier Shane Carthy had scored a superb point from play as Dublin really took the challenge to Kerry.

Six minutes before the interval Cormac Costello added to his treaure chest of scores when he scored off this left foot at the end of a brilliant and determined 40-metre burst to help Dublin to a 26 to 0-5 interval advantage.

Ten minutes into the second half Kerry got to within a goal when wing-forward Cillian Fitzgerald raised a green flag and Conor Keane fired over a great point.

There was still the clear goal between the counties seven minutes from time when Dublin full-back David Byrne, who were rock like throughout, made a goal-saving interception to lift the siege after Dublin were hemmed in by an improving Kingdom attack.

Vitally the Dubs travelled the length of the pitch for sub Shane Cunningham to point and it was another sub, David Campbell, who grabbed Dublin’s third goal in the 58th minute to ease Dublin into the final.

SCORERS – Dublin: C Costello 1-3 (0-1f), C McHugh 1-2 (0-1f), D Campbell 1-0, S Carthy (0-1 ‘45’), N Scully 0-2, M MacDonncha, G Burke, Shane Cunningham 0-1 each. Kerry: C Fitzgerald 1-0, J Savage 0-3 (0-3f), C Keane , N Sheehy (0-1f) 0-2, D Foran, D Daly, R Murphy 0-1 each.
DUBLIN: L Molloy; E Mullan, D Byrne, R McGowan; E Lowndes, C Mulally, M Mac Donncha; Stephen Cunningham, S Carthy; R Gaughan, G Burke, N Walsh; C McHugh, C Costello, N Scully. Subs: Shane Cunningham for Gaughan (44), D Gormley for Walsh (48), D Campbell for Scully (53), M Deegan for Burke (59).
KERRY: G Ó Curráin; C Ó Lúing, G Crowley, P O’Connor; G Horan, R Murphy, B Crowley; K Murphy, J Barry; D Foran, J Savage, C Fitzgerald; É Ó Conchúir, N Sheehy, C Keane. Subs: D Daly for Ó Conchúir (27), S Moloney for Sheehy (48), G O’Sullivan for K Murphy (49), G O’Shea for Foran (58), E Doyle for Barry (59). 
REF: F Kelly (Longford).