Olafs player Niamh Donnelly stars for Colaiste Iosagain to win All Ireland

November 8, 2018

Teams: Colaiste Iosagain Stillorgan  Dublin 1-14 V Scoil Bhride Tuam Co. Galway 0-09

Venue: St Brendan’s Park Birr 31-3-2012

A strong defence and some sharp shooting up front earned Coláiste Iosagain of Stillorgan in Dublin the title of Tesco Junior B All Ireland Champions. The Dubs were in control for the majority of the game as they refused to allow the Galway girls to get near them.

As soon as the ball was thrown in the Coláiste no. 13 Fionnuala Nic Mhathuna, took up the position of an extra defender in the Dublin defence. This seemed to upset the Galway game plan and the Tuam girls found it difficult to get scores on the board.

The Stillorgan students could have been out of sight by half time. Through the superb efforts of Isolt Ni Riordan and Eabha Ruitleis in the forward line they had an early lead of 0-6 to 0-1. However Scoil Bhride fought back and points from Shauna Hynes, Aoife Creaven, Darina Keane and Eva Higgins brought them back into contention.

Half time score Colaiste Iosagain 0-10 to St Marys 0-5

Scoil Bhríde played with the wind in the second half but could not seem to use it to their advantage. While they worked extremely hard to create scores the tall and agile Orla Nic Domhnaill in the Colaiste goal ensured that nothing would get by her.

Colaiste Iosagain maintained their lead through points from Ruitleis, Ni Riordan and Ni Chathain and a late goal from Aoife Ni Chathain gave them some well earned breathing space from their opponents.

Final score Colaiste Iosagain 1-14 to St Marys 0-9


Coláiste Iosagain:

Aoife Ni Chathain 1-3, Eabha Ruitleis 0-5, Iosoltt Ni Riordan 0-5, and Alannah Nic Eoin 0-1

St Mary’s:

Shauna Hynes 0-3 Darina Keane 0-3, Chelsea Blade 0-2 and Eva Higgins 0-1


Player of the match Isolt Ni Riordan

Ref Seamus Regan Roscommon