Olaf's win Feile Hurling Semi-Final

November 8, 2018

Olaf’s under 14’s followed up last weeks footballl final win with a great victory in the semi-fianl of the hurling feile Yesterday. They beat old rivals Faugh’s by 3-6 to 3-2. Now only Ballinteer St. Johns stand between them and pulling off a historic double for the club in the Feile competition.

Well done to all the lads and their mentors.  
Naomh Olaf 3=6 Faughs 3-2

A storming second half from Naomh Olaf saw our U14 hurlers turn a 2pt deficit into a 4pt win against a strong Faughs team. Olafs started the match strongly with a goal from Kevin Power Kelly and 2 points from Eoin Murphy and Harrison Brewer. During this period of the game Stephen Mulvany, Daniel Coen and David Byrne were especially prominent. However slowly but surely Faughs began to come into the game. A mix up in the Olafs defence led to the first of 2 Faughs goals. Faughs continued to apply the pressure and led at halftime 2-1 to 1-2.

Olafs came out for the 2nd half in a determined mood and quickly re-established the lead with a point and an excellently taken goal from Eoin Murphy. Olafs were really getting on top all over the field especially in the halfback line and midfield where Conor Leavy and Harrison Brewer were both dominating their markers. Murphy tagged on a further 2 points to leave Olafs ahead by 4 points entering the last 10 minutes. A fortuitous goal for Faughs set us up for a nail biting finish but Olafs quickly reasserted themselves with a goal from Murphy and fabulous point from Mark Gallagher, who a great game at centre forward. Overall it was a fantastic team performance full of skill, passion and determination. This sets up a mouth watering Final against our neighbours Ballinteer St Johns in Parnell Park next Saturday at 3pm.

Team: Ross Bannon, Gavin Beere, Adam Blunden, Cormac Bracken, Harrison Brewer (0-1, 1 65), David Byrne, Christy Connors,  Johnny Connors, Daniel Coen, Kevin Doyle, Craig Furlong, Mark Gallagher (0-1), Conor Leavy, Ronan Lewins, John McCarthy, Stephen Mulvany,  Eoin Murphy (2-4, 2 Frees), Matthew Norgrove, Harry O Brien  and Kevin Power Kelly (1-0),