One win, one loss

November 7, 2018

Junior B Football Championship.
Ballycumber 1—12 Rhode 1—10.
A really great battling performance in Ballycommon on Friday evening saw Ballycumber advance to the semi final.Early points from Andy Grennan, Jack Egan and Peter Dunne gave us a lead which we never lost. Further points from Simon Casey and Jack Egan gave a 0–5 to 0-3 lead, Rhode added two points before Peter Dunne scored a great and very important goal. Rhode got two more points to which Sean Hackett replied to leave the half time score at 1–6 to 0–7. Peter opened the scoring in the second half with a point and was followed by Sean Hackett, Dermot Egan, Andy Grennan, Lorcan Halligan and Simon Casey, while Rhode replied with points in the 5th min, 12th, and 20th and a brilliant goal in the 25th min. Ballycumber held out in the dying minutes of the half with the half back line blocking out all advances by Rhode.Team John O’Brien, Colm Kelly, Stevie Quinn, Aaron Daly, Eddie Larkin, Chris McDonald, John Egan, Paul Kelly, Mick Egan, Andy Grennan, Sean Hackett, Jack Egan, Peter Dunne, Lorcan Halligan, Simon Casey. Subs. Dermot Egan, Ken Daly, Vinny Minnock.

Senior Football Championship.
Shamrocks 2–10 Ballycumber 0–10.
A very poor performance from Ballycumber resulted in exit from this years championship.Shamrocks set the scene early when they raced into a two point lead while playing against the wind. Keith Lawler settled our nerves with a great point to which Shamrocks replied with their only other score of the half. Rory Guinan got two points and Colm Quinn kicked three to leave us leading 0–6 to 0–3 at the break. Shamrocks scored two early points to which Rory replied. Then disaster struck when a ball was spilled in the full back line and former Westmeath player P,J,Ward scored a goal. Colm replied with a point and we did not score again for 15minutes,while Shamrocks added four points and then another defensive mistake cost us another goal. Rory kicked two more points , while three good goal scoring chances were missed including one shot which hit both posts and stayed out. Another campaign has come and gone and we have to face it all again next year. Team Peter Flynn, Ritchie Dunne, Nigel Grennan, Alan Flanagan, Colin Daly, Karl Daly, Declan Daly, Diarmuid Daly, Ger Egan, Colm Quinn, Conor Robbins, Keith Lawler, Rory Guinan, Fergal Daly, Adrian Kelly. Subs. Conor Connelly, Ciaran Grennan, Conrad Casey, Brian Halligan.

Congratulations to Lorraine Keena, Bellair who played full back on the Offaly camogie team which won the All Ireland Intermediate Title in Croke Park today.