November 7, 2018

Back Row: Shane Kyne, Kevin Walsh, Owen Hester, Cillian Clancy, Sean Seoighe, Jack Osborne, Jack O’Toole, Connor Donnelly, Keith Carter, Glen Pagett

Middle Row: Ciaran Moran, Tom O’Connor, Arron Barrett, Jamie Cox, Colm Cunningham, Jason McDonagh, Fionn McDonagh, Luke McDonagh, Cathal Duggan, Donal Enright, Andrew Power

Front Row: Deane Greally, Rian Oats, Jack Brennan, Frank McManus, Cillian Davoren, Cian Deane, Cian Folan.

The first ever Pagett Cup finals were played at Ballydotia Moycullen on Saturday 20th October 2012. After a wet week we were blessed with blue skies and brilliant displays of hurling by every player in what was a wonderful occasion. The Pagett Memorial Cup which was won by Brian’s father in the late 70’s was presented to the Moycullen Juvenile Club this year by Brian & Hazel Pagett (parents of Glen).

The Shield Final opened accounts on the day with a blistering performance by both teams and while on paper the teams were evenly balanced the half time the score read 2-01 (whites) to 0-02 (greens). The second half the greens put in a great performance to bring the game to a nail biting finish but fell short at the end by a solitary point. Shield Final result Whites 2-01 vs. Greens 1-03.

The Cup Final was another highly contested affair. At half time the whites lead by 4 points (1-07vs. 2-00). Within seconds after the restart the whites increased their lead to 7 points and with a slight breeze in their favour it appeared it was their day however the opposition had other ideas. The next 5 minutes we witnessed a high intense exchange of scores. The Greens never gave upand were rewarded with their efforts and won by the smallest of margins. Final Score Greens 6-03 vs. Whites 3-11.

We had some huge performances from every player on the day. We had incredible heroics and spectacular saves between the posts from Dean Greally, Luke McDonagh and Aaron Barrett. Attackers found it difficult to penetrate the dominance of Cillian Clancy, Andrew Power and Keith Carter. Some timely tackles from Jack Osborne, Owen Hester, Frank McManus, Conor Donnelly and Jason McDonagh gave no time for attackers to settle on the ball. Really tightmarking and intelligent use of possession from Glen Pagett and Cian Deane coupled by the coolness and composure of Cian Folan and Shane Kyne created some great attacks. In the centreRian Oates and Ciaran Moran demonstrated great skill, drive and determination. The engine and tackling of Jamie Cox set a great tone in the middle with Cillian Davoran, Fionn McDonagh andTom O’Connor showing their top class skill and exchanged some tremendous scores.

29th October 2012 Monday

Minor B1 Championship Final

Mágh Cuilinn vs Sarsfields

Athenry 12.00pm