Poor start costs intermediate team. Mayo Gaels 1-7 Garrymore 2-10

November 8, 2018

Poor start costs intermediate team. Mayo Gaels 1-7 Garrymore 2-10

A poor start when they conceded two goals in the opening five minutes ultimately cost our intermediate team the O’Mara Cup game against Garrymore on Saturday evening. They matched Garrymore the remainder of the game but these two goals were the difference in the end on a final score line of 1-7 to 2-10. In an identical start to last weeks game from the throw up Garrymore were awarded a soft penalty that they duly converted. The Gaels defence was caught napping when Garrymore waltzed through for a goal without much resistance. They added a point from play quickly after to leave them seven points ahead.

The Gaels finally woke up a added two points from play with a Neil McGurrin point from play and a Jonathan Griffin free. The slick Garrymore side responded with three fine points in a row from play to stretch there lead to eight points. Neil McGurrin was unlucky to see a good run and shot rebound off the foot of the post. The Gaels finished the half strongly with a fine run and finish to the net by Joe Gilroy. Jonathan Griffin added another free to leave the halftime score 1-3 to 2-5.

The Gaels had their best spell of the game during the opening fifteen minutes of the second half when they reduced Garrymore’s lead to two points with scores from two Jonathan Griffin frees and a Noel Quinn point from play to leave it 1-6 to 2-5. Garrymore responded with two great points from play before the Gaels had their final score of the game through another Jonathan Griffin free. A fitter Garrymore side finished strongly with the three points from play to leave them six clear in the end 1-7 to 2-10. They face championship opponents Belmullet at home in the secondary league next Saturday at 5pm.

Mayo Gaels team: Paul Mannion, Noel Morris, Adrian Heneghan, Martin O’Connor, John Sloyan, Alyun Brett, Noel Quinn (0-1), Mark Nally, Sean Boyle, Joe Gilroy (1-0), Jonathan Griffin (0-5, 5f), Michael O’Gara, Dermot Browne, Shane Vahey, Neil McGurrin (0-1). Subs: Stephen Gibbons for Michael O’Gara, Paul McGing for Dermot Browne.