Rathmore V Listowel

November 8, 2018

Rathmore 0-12 Listowel Emmets 1-12

Rathmore had to line out without numerous first team players against Listowel on Saturday evening in Rathbeg. It was Listowel who started the game brightly with a Noel Kennelly free within the 1st minute and a Kevin Flavin point in the 3rd minute to leave them leading by two points. In the 4th minute Michael O’ Riordan opened the Rathmore account with a point. Then Listowel added three unanswered points in the 6th minute through Derek Galvin, in the 9th minute Maurice Whelan and Galvin again in the 10th minute to leave Listowel leading 0-05 to 0-01.

Rathmore battled hard and a brace of points by Michael O’ Riordan in the 11th and 14th minute kept Rathmore in touch. A Paul Reen free in the 16th minute left the minimum between the sides, and a great run by Ian Kelleher in the 21st minute ended in a point which left the sides level on 5 points a piece.

In the 24th minute Rathmore took the lead when midfielder Stephen Lehane landed a point. A long range free converted by Kennelly in the 29th minute meant that the sides went in level at the break. Half time score Rathmore 0-06 Listowel Emmets 0-06.

A Michael O’ Riordan point in the 5th minute pushed Rathmore ahead, but Listowel drew level again with another Kennelly free in the 8th minute. Then in the 10th minute the game changed when a misplaced pass in the Rathmore defence ended up in the hands of Kevin Flavin who placed the ball brilliantly into the Rathmore net to leave Listowel leading 1-07 to 0-07. Another Michael O’ Riordan point in the 12th minute left Rathmore trailing by two. A Kevin Flavin point in the 15th minute, and a Kennelly punched point in the 18th minute pushed Listowel ahead by four points. Goal Keeper Jamie Cooper converted a 45 in the 20th minute and a superb point by Tom O’ Sullivan in the 22nd minute left the score Rathmore 0-10 Listowel 1-09.
In the 25th minute a Conor O’ Sullivan point left the minimum between the sides. But it was Listowel who finished strongly with points in the 27th minute through Ger McCarthy, and Kevin Flavin in the 30th minute. Deep in injury time Daniel O’ Sullivan’s shot went over the bar to leave Rathmore trailing by two, but Listowel substitute John Heaphy finished the scoring to leave Emmets leading by the goal at the final whistle. Final score Rathmore 0-12 Listowel Emmets 1-12

Rathmore Team and Scorers: Jamie Cooper (0-01), James O’ Sullivan, Tom O’ Sullivan (0-01), Michael O’ Sullivan, Brian O’ Leary, Shane O’ Neill, Michael J Kelleher, Stephen Lehane (0-01), Daniel O’ Sullivan (0-01), Ian Kelleher (0-01), Eoin Lawlor, Conor O’ Sullivan (0-01), Paul Reen (0-01), Michael O’ Riordan (0-05), Paul Murphy.

Subs Used: Philip Kelly for Brian O’ Leary (inj), Sean O’ Riordan for Ian Kelleher (inj), Jerry Murphy for Paul Murphy, Tim Cronin for Paul Reen.