Report of AGM on Friday 24 January

November 8, 2018

The Annual General Meeting of Clonmore GFC was held on Friday last in St John's Hall, Hacketstown, before one of the biggest attendances for many years. With a number of new officers joining the Executive Committee, an enthusiastic new Trainer and Management Team in place and a 5 Year Club Plan about to be launched, there was an great sense of optimism for the future in evidence at the meeting. 

Reports by Chairman, James Doyle, and Secretary, Clive Lambe, reviewed a mixed year on the playing field which promised much but ended with no Championship silverware. The Intermediates just failed to make the semi-final of the League but did make the Championship semi-final to retain the club's Intermediate status for 2014. The Juniors had a mixed League and exited the Championship in the First Round due to low numbers on the night. The U-21s did very well to reach the Final again and put in a great performance against a strong Kildavin/Clonegal team before going down to a couple of late scores. The Minors played some exceptional football during the year and deservedly made it to the Championship Final and League semi-final again were unlucky to miss out. James thanked all the mentors and players for their efforts during 2013. 

James said that the passing during the year of Committee member, Des Kelly, and a number of former players and people closely connected to the club, was a cause of great sadness in the club.

The Juvenile club is going very well and James thanked Brendan Ryan and the Committee for their outstanding work and offered best wishes for 2014 to new Chairman, Johnny Maguire, and his Committee. 

A detailed financial report from Treasurer, Juliana Garahy, showed that the club is in a healthy financial state at the moment thanks to the generous support of the local community, sponsors and participants in the weekly Lotto.

Tributes were paid to the officers who were not seeking re-election – long serving Treasurer: Jim Boland after over 20 years in the position, Registrar: Dermot Byrne, Insurance Officer: Paul Byrne and H&S Officer: Robert Rooney. James thanked them all for their dedicated service to the club over a long number of years. 

James welcomed a number of new officers to the Committee: Jim Whelan, Aine Lawlor, Pauric Lawlor, Paul Hogan, Stephen Byrne and Denis Quigley. He also mentioned the Club's 5 Year Plan which has been worked on over the winter following a successful Open Forum on 21 November and will be launched in the coming weeks. He said he was looking forward to leading a hard working Committee in 2014 and was in no doubt that with renewed commitment from the players, the talent is in the club to bring success on the field in the coming year.

The following officers were returned:

  • President: Eddie Forde,
  • Hon. Presidents: Denis Cullen, Fr James Gahan, Lily Purser, Jim Boland.
  • Chairman: James Doyle,
  • Vice-Chairman: Jim Whelan,
  • Deputy Vice-Chairman: Paddy Lawlor,
  • Secretary: Clive Lambe,
  • Asst. Sec: Ger Doyle,
  • Treasurers: Juliana Garahy, Aine Lawlor,
  • PROs Ger Doyle, Des Byrne,
  • Insurance Officer: Paddy Quigley,
  • Membership Officer: Eugene Lawlor,
  • Registrar: Stephen Byrne,
  • ASAP/Child Protection Officer: Johnny Maguire,
  • Adult Player: Pauric Lawlor,
  • U-21 Player: Paul Hogan,
  • County Board Delegate: Ger Doyle,
  • Committee: Bobby Connolly, Jimmy Lawlor, Tommy Kelly, John Connolly, Jamie Doyle, Denis Quigley.