Rhode GAA Celebrated 125 Years

November 8, 2018

There was no winner of the Rhode GAA Lotto for the week ending 3rd of June for a Jackpot of €13,400. The numbers drawn were 16 21 22 27. The club like to thank all those who supported the draw and thanks to O’Toole’s for the use of their premises and for their help and cooperation. The following matched three numbers and received €200
Christy McNamee

The Rhode GAA Lotto is the main source of income the club has and now you can play online though our website. The good news is when you play the lotto online you are entitled to free draws, for example pay for seven draws receive the eighth one free, pay for fourteen draws receive two free and so on. In other words, the more you play the more free draws you are entitled to!!

Sunday members of the club celebrated 125 years of Rhode GAA and a great day was had by all. It started with mass for the deceased members of the club in Rhode church lead by Fr Gregg Corcoran. After the mass there was a parade of all teams from Under 8 to Senior along with the Rhode Ladies team and members of Fahy Handball Club, with former players and officials also coming along. The parade was lead by Club’s All-Ireland medals winners and the 125th GAA Flag was carried by the great Paddy Kerrigan. At Fr Dowling Park the 125th GAA Flag was raised by Jody Kilmurray who for the past 30 years has been raising the flags for all home games. Club Chairman James Murphy and
Jody Gunning acted as M.C for the day with the great music provided b Stephen Keogh. All the people then went to the dressing room area where the 125th plague made by Martin Nolan and sponsored by Martin and Fidelma Nolan who is the Minor Club secretary the club are indebted to the Nolan family and the Club Chairman thanked for the same. Then the victorious Ballybryan National School team winners of the Offaly division 1 Cumann na Mbum Scoil football title with their medals and the presentation was made by the boys and girls team from Under 8 to Under 12 then played a game to the delight of the great crowd present and the teams were presented with their medals by Martin Heavey, Liam Swaine, Paddy McCormack, Jody Gunning, Johnny Mooney, Pat Daly, Ken Kellaghan that ended the field activities thoroughly enjoyed by all and thanks here is expressed for the following
1.The lone piper who led the parade with great music.
2. Vincent McEvoy who provided the video for the parade and at the presentation function.
3. Stephen Keogh for music and amplification.
4. Pat McManus for supplying the tent and Kieran Dunphy for the shop.
5. All those who took part in the parade and the people who led the parade . Paddy Kerrigan and all the All Ireland medal winners
In Killeens of Rhode that night the medal presentation took place. Club Chairman James Murphy welcomed all to the function and Fr Greg said grace before and after the meal and addressed the function.
The club chairman then introduced the special guest county board Pauric Boland who then addressed the gathering with an excellent speech. Pauric was then presented with a token gesture for being the special guest by the club Glennon and his wife presented with a bouquet of flowes by club treasurer Patricia McManus. Their was then a special presentaion to outgoing treasurer Mary Hannon who for the past thirteen years who did such an excellent job who was a great lady to work with. The presentation was made by James Murphy and assistant club secretary Fionnuala Hickey.Club chairman then addressed the presentation and in a heart rousing speech he outlined all aspects of the club activities leaving no stone uptourned. Pauric Boland then presented the senior, Division 1 league medals and under 21 championship medals to the various players. Captain Niall McNamee was the final speaker and thanked all the players, management team of Gerry Hickey, Benny Kerrigan and Ronan Heavey, kit man Barney Scally assisted by Robert Kelleghan, Fergal McGuinness, Craig Byrne, the club officials and all concerned. The club would like to thank all who made the day and night on Sunday such a great success and special thanks to Colm Killeen and his staff for the excellent meal served, it was fabulous and last but not least to the DJ Dicey Reilly.

The follow are the players who received their medals
Dean Morris
Darren Garry
Paul Coates
Eoin Rigney
James McPadden
Conor McNamee
Paul McPadden
Anton Sullivan
Stephen Hannon
Garret McNamee
Donal Hickey
Jake Kavanagh
Caathal Nolan
Robert Leavey
Stephen O’Connell
Glen O’Connell
Aiden Brereton
Roy Malone
James Coffey
Niall Cole
Declan Murphy
Pauric Sullivan
Mark Dunne
Paschal Kellaghan
Garret Hickey
Carlos Flynn
Dan O’Brien
Eoghan Byrne
Kieran Heavey
Alan McNamee
Eddie McDonald
Ronan Heavey
Emmet Mayon
J P McLoughlin
Mark Conroy
Colm Rigney
Fergal McGuinness
Conor Leavey
Tom Dowling
David Boland
Christopher Maguire
William Melloy
Philip Foy
Jamie Leavey
Thomas Mooney
Johnny Brickland
Cian Donoghue
Ken Garry
Brian Darby
Shane Sullivan
Niall Darby
Niall McNamee

For more news go to