November 8, 2018

2004 – Na Piarsaigh, 2005 – Newtownshandrum, 2006 – Erins Own. What have they all in common? They have all won the Cork S.H. Championship of course and en route all have defeated Bride Rovers. It just goes to show that winning the Cork Co. S.H.C. is not an impossible dream for us. We were well beaten by Erins Own in this year’s quarter final but we all know that we are a much better team than the 2-15 to 0-8 scoreline.
Cloyne have the unbelievable distinction of joining Ballincollig as the only two Cork clubs to have lost three finals in a row. But Cloyne won’t just fold up their tent and go away. They will be back. Tis only a few short years ago since they lost the first round of the Co. S.H.C. for 3 years in a row – no ‘back door’ then. They have come a long way since. Erins Own now are champions for the second time and with their huge population and marvelous under-age set up are determined to be a force in Cork hurling for years to come.