Sean Kelly helps Galway Minor Footballers into the Connacht Final

November 7, 2018

At MacHale Park Castlebar on Saturday evening Galway minor footballers advanced to a Connacht final with Sligo in two weeks time, it was devastating performance from Stephen Joyce’s men against Mayo winning by 3-14 to 1-3. when you consider that in the Connacht League Mayo outclassed the Tribesmen by 5-7 to 0-7.

The winners gave a polished display all round and by half time were in front by 0-12 to 1-0, thanks to points from, Cillian McDaid 0-4, Eric Lee 0-4 Conor Marsden 0-2, and one each from Colm Ó Braonain and Colin Ryan, Galway played a brand of free flowing football thanks to a powerful display from the midfield pairing of Aran Islands man O’ Braonain and McDaid from Craughwell.

In part two the Mayo revival failed to materialise thanks to a Galway hat trick of goals in seven minutes from Conor Marsden with a brace and Finnian Ó Laoi to book a final clash with Sligo in Dr Hyde Park Roscommon on July 19th. Colm Ó Braonain was selected ‘Man of the Match’

Moycullen had Sean Kelly playing at wing back and Dessie Conneely was on the bench waiting to be sprung if Galway needed more firepower up front, but this wasnt the case. Kelly gave a very compedient performance.

The Galway team was:  Ronan Ó Beolain ( Micheal Breathnach), Caelom  Mulry( Monivea-Abbey) Dylan McHugh ( Corofin), Ian Kent (Bearna), Sean Ó Ceallaigh ( Maigh Cuilinn), Liam Ó Ceallaigh (An Spideal)  John Daly ( Mountbellew-Moylough), Colm Ó Braonain (Oileáin Arainn), Cillian McDaid ( Craughwell), Eric Lee (Oughterard), Conor Marsden( Kilconly), Finnian Ó Laoi (In Spideal), Colin Ryan (Mountbellew-Moylough), Michael Boyle Capt  ( Killererin), Ryan Forde ( Annaghdown)

Subs:  Ciaran Brady (Corofin) for Ryan, Patrick O’Donnell (Oileáin Arainn) for O’Laoi, Barry McGoldrick (Claregalway) for Forde, Earnan McDonagh (Bearna) for S Kelly and Henry O’Toole (Clifden) for Daly.

Galway Scores:  C Marsden 2-3, E Lee 0-5, C McDaid 0-4, F Ó Laoi 1-0,  C Ó Braonain 0-1, C Ryan 0-1