November 7, 2018

NAAS      0  –  9             MAYNOOTH       0  –  7

Naas had a two point winning margin over Maynooth  at windy Kilcock.  Naas with David Gahan in fine form, ably supported by Eoin Doyle, Eamonn Callaghan, Brian Kane and Conor Ferguson deserved their two point victory.  Naas playing with the wind led 0 – 5 to 0 – 2 at the interval  but had shot ten wides which could have been costly.

Maynooth  put in strong last quarter reducing a five point lead to one point with points from Michael Fahey(2) , Darren Maguire and Paul Mescal.  Maynooth strove hard for the equaliser but a late point for Naas by substitute Neil Farragher  gave Naas the  victory. 

Despite playing against the breeze Maynooth opened the scoring with points from Paul Mescal and Neil Flynn (free). It took Naas thirteen minutes to score with a Ross Bergin point. An Eamonn Callaghan free levelled matters. After twenty three minutes David Gahan put Naas in front.  An Ailin McDermott break through the middle placed Ross Bergin for a point and a Brian Byrne and Eamonn Callaghan move put David Gahan through for the last point of the half. Naas led 0 – 5 to 0 – 2.

Naas increased their lead to five points early in the second half with points from  Ross Bergin and David Gahan . Then Michael Fahey and Shane Bergin traded points. Four unanswered points from Maynooth reduced the arrears to one point. As the game entered injury time veteran Neil Farragher pointed to ensure a Naas victory.

Naas : Barry Reynolds, Eoin Bateman, Eoin Doyle, John Hill, Paul Sullivan, Michael McDonald, Eamonn Callaghan (0 – 1), Brian Kane, David Gahan (0 – 3), Shane Bergin (0 – 1), Brian Byrne, Ailin McDermott, John Joyce, Ross Bergin (0 – 3), Conor Ferguson.  Sub: Neil Farragher (0 – 1).

Maynooth: Mark Donnellan, Darren Maguire (0 – 1), Ciaran Whelan, Shane Delaney, John Comerford, Paul Mescal  (0 – 2), Alan McAndrew, Bankole Agunsoye, Michael Bennett, Derry Bradley, Philly Murphy, Ian Doyle, Michael Fahey (0 – 3), Hughie Faherty, Neil Flynn (0 – 1).

Referee: Conor Daly (Leixlip).