November 7, 2018


NAAS   1  –  15        ALLENWOOD     0  –  14

An early Naas goal by Conor Mellett after an Ailin McDermott pass and a dominant second quarter in which Naas scored nine points to two for Allenwood were instrumental in a Naas victory. Leading by six points at the interval Naas had to withstand a resurgent Allenwood in the last twenty minutes to win by four points.

After six minutes Ailin McDermott found Conor Mellett who goaled for Naas. Four Johnny Doyle points put Allenwood in front 0 – 4 to 1 – 0 after ten minutes. Naas then took control and edged ahead with four points from Conor Mellett, John Joyce, Paul Sullivan and Joey Cocoman. Allenwood reduced the arrears with a Leon McCabe point. Neil Farragher restored the three point advantage after 22 minutes. Two Naas points on either side of a Darragh Malone point for Allenwood left Naas clear 1 – 9 to 0 – 6 at the interval.

In the second half Naas continued where they left off with three Conor Ferguson points. Ailin McDermott and Leon McCabe then swapped points. Naas led 1 – 13 to 0 – 7 with twenty minutes left. Johnny Doyle and Ronan Joyce exchanged points as did Darragh Malone and Joey Cocoman to leave the score 1 – 15 to 0 – 8. Allenwood dominated the last fifteen minutes scoring six unanswered points. Four from the trusty boot of former county star Johnny Doyle.. But try as they might there was four points between them at the finish.

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Eoghan Bateman, Shane Bergin, Fiachra Piggott, Ailin McDermott, Michael McDonald, Paul Sullivan(0 – 1), Brian Kane, David Gahan(0 – 1), Conor Ferguson(0 – 4), Neil Farragher(0 – 1), John Joyce(0 – 1), Joey Cocoman(0 – 2), Conor Mellett(1 – 1), Ronan Joyce(0 – 1).

Allenwood: Ernie Price, Ronan Guilfoyle, Mark Hogarty, John Wiltshire, Darragh Malone(0 – 2), Stephen Conlon, Killian Moran, Michael Mc Cormack, John Doyle(0 – 9), Eric Judge, Kenneth Swords, James Maher, Leon McCabe(0 – 3), David Byrne, Shane Smullen.