November 7, 2018


NAAS      3  –  17            CONFEY      1  –  6

This was a marvellous display by the home side who dominated the game from start to finish. Naas corner forward Ronan Joyce, not long back after injury, scored ten points( five from frees). A twentieth minute goal from Joey Cocoman as well as two second half goals in two minutes from John Joyce and Conor Mellett left Confey struggling. Their only goal coming from a penalty in the last minute of the game.

Naas opened the scoring with Joey Cocoman point in the third minute. Confey replied with a similar score from Conor Daly. The home side scored four in a row from Ronan Joyce to lead 0 – 5 to 0 – 1 after fifteen minutes. After a bout of passing around the Confey goal Joey Cocoman goaled for Naas. The County town dominated the last ten minutes scoring five points without reply from Ronan Joyce(0 – 3) , Conor Mellett and Philip Cocoman. Confey got their second point of the game from Jim Gately just before the interval. Naas led 1 – 10 to 0 – 2.

At the start of the second half Hugh Lynch (Confey ) and Ronan Joyce Naas swapped points . Then Confey reduced the arrears with two Jim Gately points. Then Naas struck with two goals in two minutes from John Joyce and Conor Mellett to finish the game as a contest. A second point from Philip Cocoman followed. Then Ronan Joyce and Jim Gately exchanged points. Then two Naas points were scored by substitute Darragh Merriman and Ronan Joyce before Jim Gately converted a Confey penalty. The game finished with Naas points from Brian Kane and Eamonn Callaghan.

Naas: Luke Mullins, John Hill, Shane Bergin, Eoghan Bateman, Brian Kane(0 – 1), Eoin Doyle, Ailin McDermott, David Gahan, Paul McDermott, Joey Cocoman(1 – 1), Ronan Joyce(0 – 10),Eamonn Callaghan (0 – 1), Conor Mellett(1 – 1),Philip Cocoman(0 – 2),John Joyce(1 – 0).  Sub : Darragh Merriman(0 – 1).

Confey: Colin Heeney, Conor Dennehy, Colm Chan, Andy Grehan, Donal McClean, Joe Kilbane, Conal Jennings, Hugh Lynch(0 – 1), Gary Savage, Conor Jennings, Graham Caffrey, Frank Barry, David Slattery, Conor Daly(0 – 1), Jim Gately(1 – 4).