November 7, 2018


Naas   0 – 18        Carbury    1 – 11

Naas had a well-deserved four point victory over Carbury in the Senior Football League at Naas. Playing with the wind in the first half Naas led by one point at half-time, the highlight of which was four long range points by Eamonn Callaghan for the home side.

Naas started strongly in the second half scoring five unanswered points to lead by six points after ten minutes.  Carbury fought back but despite reducing the arrears to two points on two occasions in the last twenty minutes they failed to overcome Naas.

Playing with the wind Naas opened the scoring with two long range Eamonn Callaghan points. Carbury went a point ahead with a well taken Eoghan O’Flaherty goal, A Ronan Joyce free levelled matters before Ailin McDermott and Brian O’Flaherty swapped points. Both teams traded points per Joyce and O’Flaherty. Three Carbury points from Eoghan O’Flaherty(2) and Terry Rossiter put Carbury a goal in front 1 – 5 to 0 – 5. Naas replied with four unanswered points from Callaghan (2), Joey Cocoman and Conor Mellett to take a one point lead. Both teams scored one point each from frees to leave Naas ahead at the interval 0 – 10 to 1 – 6.

Naas were on top in the first ten minutes of the second half with points from Ronan Joyce (2), John Joyce, Brian Kane and Eamonn Callaghan. Eoghan O’Flaherty replied with three in a row and a Terry Rossiter point reduced the arrears to two points. The sides traded points before Naas completed the scoring with points from Ronan Joyce and Ross Kelly.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Davy Shaw, Shane Bergin, John Hill, Brian Kane(0 – 1), Brian Byrne, Ailin McDermott(0 – 1), Ross Kelly(0 – 1), David Gahan, Joey Cocoman(0 – 1), Ronan Joyce (0 – 7), Eamonn Callaghan (0 – 5), Conor Mellett(0 – 1), Philip Cocoman, John Joyce (0 – 1).

Carbury: Declan Conroy, Kevin O’Neill, Willie Groome, Danny Boyle, Stephen McKeon, Morgan O’Flaherty, Adrian Criiigan, Alan Kearney, Sean Costelloe, Dale Redmond, Stephen McGlynn, Brian O’Flaherty (0 – 1), Terry Rossiter(0 – 1), Eoghan O’Flaherty(1 – 8), Andrew Dermody(0 – 1)