November 7, 2018


ATHY  0  –  9         NAAS   1  –  6

Athy dominated the first half and were leading by 0 – 5 to 0 – 1 after twenty five minutes. Two late points from Brian Kane and Ailin McDermott got Naas back on track and reduced the arrears at the interval to two points. Athy led 0 – 5 to 0 – 3.

Naas played much better in the second half but were four  behind after twenty minutes. A Brian Kane point and a Ross Kelly goal brought the sides level and this was the way it finished. Athy will rue some missed chances particularly from frees while  Naas will be thankful they got out of Athy with a share of the spoils.

The first point in the game came in the tenth minute from the home side. Points from frees by Liam McGovern put them three ahead. Naas opened their scoring with a Conor Mellett point after nineteen minutes. Athy went further ahead with points from David Hyland and Paddy Dunne. Two late points from Naas left two between them at the break.

Naas opened the scoring in the second half with a Conor Mellett free. Athy replied with three unanswered points from Cian Reynolds and Liam McGovern(2). Athy led 0 – 8 to 0 – 4 after twenty minutes. A Brian Kane point reduced the arrears to three points. Then Ailin McDermott broke up field and delivered the ball into the Athy square where Ross Kelly pounced to find the net and bring the sides level. Athy took the lead with a Killian Mulhall point with four minutes remaining. A long range free from Shane Bergin equalled matters and gave each a share of the points.

Naas: Luke Mullins, John Hill, Shane Bergin(0 – 1), Oisin Gill, Dave Shaw, Brian Byrne, Ailin McDermott(0 – 1), Ross Kelly(1 – 0), David Gahan, Joey Cocoman, Brian Kane(0 – 2), Ross Bergin, Conor Mellett(0 – 2), Philip Cocoman, Aidan Begley.

Athy: Stephen Davis, Thomas Foley, Conor Ronan, John Moran, Tony Gibbons, Michael Foley, Killian Mulhall(0 – 1), David Hyland(0 – 1), Paddy Dunne(0 – 2) Liam McGovern(0 – 4), Cian Reynolds(0 – 1), Adrian Kelly, Tony Martin, James Eaton, Sean Ronan.