November 7, 2018


NAAS    3  –  9       LEIXLIP     2  –  11

A late Conor Mellett point gave Naas a one point victory over Leixlip and kept them in contention for a semi-final spot with two games left. Naas scarcely deserved this victory on their second half performance as their first point came in the 26th minute.

Three first half goals for Naas from Conor Mellett, Aiden Begley and Philly Cocoman to two for Leixlip from Paddy Meagher and Brian Claffey  led to a five point lead for Naas at the interval 3 – 6 to 2 – 4. Just before the interval  Leixlip were reduced to fourteen  when one of their players received a Red card.

Leixlip dominated the second half and kicking some great points they scored seven without reply to take a two point lead with five minutes remaining. Three late Naas points won the day for the home side and kept them in contention for Div. 1 honours.

Leixlip were first out of the blocks with a paddy Meagher free. The teams then swapped  goals from Conor Mellett(Naas) and Paddy Meagher (Leixlip). Another Paddy Meagher point gave Leixlip a 1 – 2 to 0 – 2 lead after six minutes. Naas then shot four  in a row from a Shane Bergin “45”, Barry Murphy, a Conor Mellett free and Philly Cocoman.

A second goal for Naas from Aiden Begley after fourteen minutes gave Naas a 2 – 4 to 1 – 2 lead. Then Niall White (Leixlip) and Barry Murphy(Naas) swapped points. A Shane Gibbons run up field ended in a Ross Bergin point. Again we had two goals in a minute from Brian Claffey(Leixlip) and Philly Cocoman(Naas). A Paddy Meagher free ended the first half scoring. Naas led 3 – 6 to 2 – 4.

Even with a man down Leixlip dominated the first twenty five minutes of the second half. They scored seven points without reply from Paddy Meagher(2) , Aiden Ryan(2) and one each from Brian Claffy, Tom Gibbons and John Roche to take a two point lead. Naas hit back with a Ronan Joyce point after 26 minutes. Naas corner forward Conor Mellett saved the day for Naas with two late points.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Shane Gibbons, Shane Bergin(0 – 1), David Shaw, Brian Kane, Eoghan Bateman, Ailin McDermott, David Gahan, Paul McDermott, Joey Cocoman, Ross Bergin(0 – 1), Barry Murphy(0 – 2).Conor Mellett(1 – 3), Philly Cocoman(1 – 1), Aiden Begley(1 – 0). Sub Ronan Joyce(0 – 1).

Leixlip: Gavin Regan, Padraig Heneghan, Ryan Doyle, Conor Egan, Ciaran Fadien, Tom Gibbons(0 – 1), Brian Gibbons,  Dan Gallery, Ronan Fitzsimon, Paddy Meagher(1 – 5), Eoin Molloy, Dessie Hynes, Niall White(0 – 1), Brian Claffy(1 – 1), Evin Kileen. Subs: Aiden Ryan(0 – 2), John Roche(0 – 1).

Referee : Niall Colgan: