November 7, 2018

NAAS       1  –  11                CARBURY       1  –  11

The sides ended level in this Leinster Leader cup game at Naas. Both teams had their periods of dominancy with Carbury making the running after Eoghan O’Flaherty had converted a sixth minute penalty. The sides where level at the interval Naas 0 – 7  Carbury 1 – 4.  A tenth minute goal in the second half by Ronan Joyce put Naas in the driving seat.  However two Eoghan O’Flaherty  45’s and a late   point restored parity for Carbury.

Carbury opened the scoring with an Eoghan O’Flaherty penalty and a Terry Rossiter point. Naas reduced the arrears with two Ronan Joyce points. Carbury replied with points from Willie Groome and Brian O’Flaherty to restore their four point advantage after fifteen minutes.  Naas took control and dominated the exchanges scoring five in a row from Brian Kane, John Joyce , Eamonn Callaghan, Ross Bergin and Ronan Joyce to take a point lead 0 – 7 to 1 – 3.A late Andy Dermody point brought the sides level at the break.

Carbury took the initiative at the start of the second half with three points from Andy Dermody, Eoghan O’Flaherty and Terry Rossiter. A tenth minute Ronan Joyce goal levelled matters again at 1 – 7 each. Points from Ronan Joyce, Conor Ferguson and Ross Bergin had Naas three points clear half-way through the second half. Carbury fought back with two Eoghan O’Flaherty 45’s split by a point from his brother Morgan to draw level at 1 – 10 each. Naas restored the lead with a Ross Bergin point with seven minutes remaining. A late Kenny McNamara point put the teams on level  terms at the finish.

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Eoghan Bateman, Michael McDonald, John Hill, Paul Sullivan, Shane Bergin, Eamonn Callaghan(0 – 1), Brian Kane(0 – 1), David Gahan, Ailin McDermott, Brian Byrne, Conor Ferguson (0 – 1), John Joyce(0 – 1), Ross Bergin(0 – 3), Ronan Joyce 1 – 4).

Carbury: Declan Conroy, Gary Mangan, Danny Boyle, Pat Grace, Daryl O’Brien, Morgan O’Flaherty(0 – 1), Brian O’Flaherty(0 – 1), Willie Groome(0 – 1), Sean Costello, Sean Moore, Eoghan O’Flaherty(1 – 3), Stephen McGlynn, Kenny McNamara(0 – 1), Andy Dermody (0 – 2), Terry Rossiter(0 – 2).

Referee : Liam Herbert.