November 7, 2018


NAAS    3 –  12        MONASTEREVIN   1  –  17

 Four late points by Naas brought them from a goal behind to a one point victory against Monasterevin. Naas four points ahead at the interval found Monasterevin a difficult proposition in the second half and were two points behind after fifteen minutes. Monasterevin leading 0  –  15 to 2  –  7. However Naas recovered their composure for a one point victory.

Monasterevin opened the scoring with points from Wayne Fitzpatrick and Pauric Nash. A Conor Ferguson goal for Naas after fourteen minutes gave Naas a one point lead 1 – 2 to 0  – 4. Another Naas goal from Paul Sullivan put Naas four points ahead at Half-Time. Naas led 2  –  6 to 0  –  8.

Monasterevin started the second half strongly and scored seven points from Wayne Fitzpatrick(0 – 5) and Pauric Nash (0 – 2) to a Neil Farragher point for Naas to lead 0 – 15 to 2 – 7 after fifteen minutes. Naas replied with a Ronan Joyce free and a David Gahan penalty to go two points ahead. Monasterevin drew level and then went a goal in front from a Fitzpatrick penalty with seven minutes left. Naas fought back with points from Ross Bergin(2), Ronan Joyce and Paul McDermott for a one point victory.

Naas: Barry Reynolds, John Hill, Paul Sullivan(1 – 0), Fiachra Piggott, Shane Bergin, Michael McDonald, Brian Byrne, Brian Kane, David Gahan(1 – 0), Conor Ferguson(1 – 0), Neil Farragher (0 – 2), Ailin McDermot(0 – 1)t, John Joyce(0 – 1), Ross Bergin(0 – 3), Ronan Joyce(0 – 4), Sub: Paul McDermott(0 – 1).

Monasterevin: Colin McCabe, Jake Kennedy, Mark Cornish, Daryl Dunne, Paul Moloney, Eoin Stapleton, Cormac Stapleton, Leonard Havens, Wayne Sharpe, Gary Kelly, Mark Kelly, Wayne Fitzpatrick(1 – 12), Christy Dempsey, Pauric Nash(0 – 5).