November 7, 2018

A great first half performance by Naas topped off by an Ailin McDermott goal put Naas in a commanding position at the interval, Naas 1 – 8 to Sarsfields 0 – 2. Sarsfields tried hard in the second half and got within four points of Naas with three minutes left, but two late Naas points gave them a six point win.

Sarsfields opened the scoring with points from Barry Coffey and Conor Delahunty, their only scores in the first half. Naas replied with points from Ronan Joyce and Neil Farragher to draw level. Naas took the lead on the 14th minute with the Ailin McDermott goal. Naas continued to dominate for the rest of the half scoring six points without reply. Most notable were two long range efforts from Brian Kane and Conor Ferguson. Naas led 1  –  8 to 0  –  2 at the interval.

At the start of the second half Sean Dempsey (Sarsfields) and Shane Bergin (Naas) swapped points. Two Ray Cahill points reduced the arrears to seven points. A Brian Kane point for Naas was followed by four Sarsfields points from Ray Cahill (3) and Conor Delahunty. Naas now led by 1 – 10 to 0 – 9. Two late Naas points from David Gahan and Ross Bergin sealed the victory.

Naas: Luke Mullins, Eoghan Bateman, Paul Sullivan, John Hill, Shane Bergin (0 – 1), Michael Mc Donald, Brian Byrne, Brian Kane (0 – 2), David Gahan (0 – 2), Conor Ferguson (0 – 2), Neil Farragher (0 – 1), Ailin McDermott (1 – 0), John Joyce (0 – 1), Ross Bergin (0 – 1), Ronan Joyce (0 – 2).

Sarsfields: Andy O’Brien, Donnachadh Mc Donnell, Sean Campbell, Steven Lawlor, Conor Tiernan, Niall O’Callaghan, Dean Domican, Mattie Byrne, Con Kavanagh, Ben McCormack, Ray Cahill (0 – 5), Barry Coffey (0 – 1), John Geraghty, Sean Dempsey (0 – 1), Conor Delahunty (0 – 2).