Seniors complete League campaign with a fine win

November 8, 2018

Edenderry seniors rounded off their 2012 league campaign with a comfortable sixteen point win over Raheen. Beaten in last years Division one final, the reds failed to reach the knockout stages this year but there was plenty of positives to be taken from the season.

Edenderry opened the scoring after three minutes when Dean Cummins pointed with his left foot. Raheen responded instantly and hit three unanswered points by the ninth minute. Ciaran Hurley pointed from a free in the thirteenth minute and a Stephen Guing point two minutes later leveled the game.

Raheen again took the lead in the seventeenth minute but it would be the last time they did so as five minutes later half forward Robbie Glennon shot the ball to the roof of the net and put the reds two points in front. A Sean Doyle point one minute later gave the reds a three point lead at the interval.

Half time:
Edenderry 1-4 0-4 Raheen.

The reds controlled the second half from start to finish and within the opening ten minutes they had stretched their lead to eight points thanks to scores from Ciaran Hurley(2) and Mark Young(3). Edenderry kept up the momentum and points from full back Johnny Hurst and his young cousin Sean Doyle, either side of a Raheen point, gave Edenderry a 1-11 0-5 lead with seventeen minutes gone in the second half.

Ciaran Hurley pointed his fourth in the twentieth minute and four minutes later the points where sealed when centre back Dan Nolan rifled the ball to the the top corner, and not for the first time this year! Mark Young scored his fourth of the game in the twenty fifth minute and while Raheen responded with a point, Philip Farrell was on hand to score Edenderry’s third goal in stoppage time after Mark Young’s shot rattled the crossbar.

Team Sheet:
Brian Quinlan, Stephen Abbott, Johnny Hurst(0-1), Wayne Mooney, Diarmaid Meleady, Dan Nolan(1-1), Dan Ryan, Stephen Guing(0-1), Dan Moloney, Stuart Cullen, Mark Young(0-4), Robbie Glennon(1-0), Ciaran Hurley(0-4), Dean Cummins(0-1), Sean Doyle(0-2).

Sean Moriarty for Dan Ryan, Philip Farrell(1-0) for Stuart Cullen.