Seniors draw with Gracefield

November 8, 2018

Edenderry Seniors drew with Gracefield on Friday night on a scoreline of 1-9 a piece. The reds lead throughout the game but in the final seven minutes gave away a four point lead and Gracefield salvaged a draw.

The reds got the scoring started when Martin Keogh pointed a free after a foul on Colm Byrne. Gracefield responded with three points, two coming from Ruairi Allen. Edenderry came back and when a long ball into the full forward line caused confusion amongst the defence. Stephen Abbott hassled the full back and when he dropped the ball David Farrelly was on hand to score a goal. Derek Kelly pointed a free just minutes later but two further points for Gracefield, one a free from Kieran McEvoy. The referee then blew for the half time whistle leaving the sides level, 1-2 to 0-5.

Edenderry had the aid of the wind in the second half and started strong, Derek Kelly scoring a great point from 40 yards. Both sides traded a series of scores, David Farrelly and Martin Keogh for Edenderry while Ruairi Allen converted two for Gracefield. The reds then opened a four point lead when again Derek Kelly pointed, while John Gorman also opened his account. Martin Keogh added his third to put four points between the sides. With seven minutes remaining Kieran McEvoy scored a goal for Gracefield and quickly followed that up with a point to level the sides. Derek Kelly caught the resulting kick out and he drove a long ball into the Gracefield square but the bounce caught the goalkeeper off guard and it bounced over the bar. As injury time approached the reds tried to hang on but Ruairi Allens fifth point of the game tied the sides. The final score reading 1-9 a piece.

This was the seniors fourth game of the league and they now have 4 points from 4 games. On the night best for Edenderry were Diarmaid Meleady, David Hanlon, Derek Kelly and Martin Keogh

Brian Quinlan, Diarmaid Meleady, Johnny Blong, Wayne Mooney, David Hanlon, Dan Nolan, Gary Blong, Derek Kelly(0-4), Stephen Guing, Colm Byrne, David Farrelly(1-1), Pat Moloney, Johnny Hurst, Martin Keogh(0-3), Stephen Abbott

Subs: John Gorman(0-1) for Pat Moloney, Colm Cummins for Stephen Abbott