November 7, 2018


DIV. 1 RD. 6

NAAS   0  –  16          MONASTEREVIN    0  –  6

Matters were fairly even between these two sides in the first half but Naas edged ahead at half-time to lead by three points.  Monasterevin tried hard in the second half but could only manage one point to eight for Naas. Star of the game for Naas was corner forward Ronan Joyce who ended up with a tally of seven points.

Naas opened the scoring with a Ronan Joyce free. A Wayne Fitzpatrick point levelled matters. Then Rory McDermott(Naas) and Gary Kelly(Monasterevin) swapped points before three unanswered Naas points by Ailin McDermott, David Gahan and Conor Ferguson. Two Fitzpatrick frees reduced the arrears. Naas led 0 – 5 to 0 – 3 after twenty five minutes. Naas forged ahead with two points from Conor Mellett ad Ronan Joyce. Fitzpatrick and Joyce traded points  to leave Naas ahead at the interval 0 – 8 to 0 – 5.

As he did in the first half Ronan Joyce opened the scoring with a free. Another Joyce free was countered by a Fitzpatrick point. Monasterevin’s only point of the second half. From the tenth minute on Naas took control and added a further six points from Ronan Joyce (2), Conor Ferguson, Paul McDermott , Conor Mellett and substitute Ciaran Doyle. 

Naas Barry Reynolds, Eoghan Bateman, Shane Bergin, Stephen Piggott, Ailin McDermott (0 – 1), Kevin Martin, Paul Sullivan, David Gahan(0 – 1), Brian Kane, Paul McDermott(0 – 1), Rory McDermott(0 – 1), Conor Ferguson(0 – 2), Conor Mellett(0 – 2), Joey Cocoman, Ronan Joyce(0 – 7). Sub: Ciaran Doyle(0 – 1).

Monasterevin: Shane Farrell, David Maher, Cormac Stapleton, Davin Murphy, , Shane O’Loughlin, Eoin Stapleton, Mark Cornish, Leonard Heavens, Christy Dempsey, Johannes Muller, Wayne Fitzpatrick(0 – 5). Gary Kelly(0 – 1), Cormac Brady, Shane Molloy, Darragh Forde .

Referee Brendan Hickey.