November 7, 2018

In an entertaining game, in which defences dominated for most of the first half, Naas emerged victors by the narrowest of margins. Level at the interval at 1 – 4 each Naas forged ahead with two second half goals in the first quarter by David Gahan(penalty) and Ronan Joyce. Sarsfields fought back and it took a Conor Mellett point to ensure victory.

Naas opened the scoring with a point from Ailin McDermott after two minutes. Ray Cahill equalised for  Sarsfields. Then Ronan Joyce (Naas) and  Dan Nea (Sarsfields) swapped points from frees. After sustained Naas pressure Brian Kane goaled in the 11th.minute. Naas led 1 – 2 to o – 2. Points from Ray Cahill reduced the arrears. Sarsfields went ahead in the 25th.minute with a well taken goal from Dan Nea. Two points from Ronan Joyce and Shane Bergin levelled the game at half-time 1 – 4 each.

Sarsfields opened the scoring in the second half with a  Ronan Fitzgibbon point. Two goals by David Gahan(penalty) and Ronan Joyce put Naas three points clear after fifteen minutes. Two Ronan Joyce points increased the margin to five before a late rally from Sarsfields reduced the arrears to a point . As the game entered injury time Conor Mellett made it two with a long range point. Sarsfields tried hard for the winning goal but could only get a point.

Naas: Barry Reynolds, Fiachra  Piggott, Paul Sullivan, Stephen Piggott, Conor Ferguson, Shane Bergin(0 – 1), Ross Bergin, Brian Kane (1 – 0), David Gahan (1 – 0), John Joyce, Neil Farragher, Ailin Mc Dermott (0 – 1),Ronan Joyce((1 – 4), Conor Mellett(0 – 1), Paul McDermott

Sarsfields:  Andy o’Brien, James Healy, Sean Campbell, Stephen Lawlor, Alan Scully, Donnachadh McDonnell(0 – 1), Diarmuid Hartley, Tom Aspell,  Ciaran Mcinerney Aspell, Ronan Fitzgibbon(0 – 3), Ray Cahill(0 – 3), Barry Coffey(0 – 1),  Dan Nea(1 – 1), Declan McKenna(1 – 0), Eoin O’Sullivan.