SFL Div 1 Rd 5 v Carbury, Match Report 21/04/2014

November 7, 2018

Senior Football League  Div 1, Rd 5

Naas  1 – 12 ,   Carbury     2 – 07

A spirited performance from Naas saw them defeat Carbury by two points in this S.F.L. div. 1 tie. Naas dominated the first half with Shane Bergin and David Gahan on top in the middle strongly supported by Paul O’Sullivan at centre –back. Five Eamonn Callaghan points and a Ronan Joyce goal just before the interval put Naas seven points clear at the break. Naas added on three points at the start of the second half to go ten clear. Carbury took over for the next twenty minutes and with two Eoghan O’Flaherty goals drew level with seven minutes remaining. Naas finished the stronger side with two late points.

Naas were three points up after four minutes with points from Eamonn Callaghan (2) and David Gahan (1). Three Carbury points from Eoghan O’Flaherty, James Kelly and Morgan O’Flaherty brought the sides level after fifteen minutes. A Ronan Joyce point and three points from Eamonn Callaghan put Naas four ahead. In the 27th minute an Eamonn Callaghan cross was collected by Ronan Joyce who beat two defenders to place the ball in the net. Naas led at the interval 1 – 7 to 0 – 3.

At the start of the second half Naas continued where they left off and had three points on the board in six minutes from Eamonn Callaghan (2) and Joey Cocoman (1) to go ten points clear. Carbury now started to dominate and with the help of two goals from Eoghan O’Flaherty in the 15th and 23rd minutes drew level at 1 – 10 to 2 – 7. With four minutes to go Shane Bergin put Naas ahead and Neil Farragher sealed victory with an injury time point.


Naas: Barry Reynolds, Eoghan Bateman, Michael McDonald, Keith McDonnell, Brian Kane, Paul Sullivan, Fiachra Piggott, Shane Bergin (0 – 1), David Gahan (0 – 1), Conor Ferguson, Joey Cocoman (0 – 1), Brian Byrne, Ronan Joyce (1 – 1), Ross Bergin, Eamonn Callaghan (0 – 7). Sub: Neil Farragher (0 – 1).

Carbury: Declan Conroy, Danny Boyle, Brian O’Flaherty, Adrian Crinnigan, Stephen Mckeon, Morgan O’Flaherty (0 – 1), Daryl O’Brien, Sean Costello, Colm Kearney, Michael Kelly (0 – 1), Eoghan O’Flaherty (2 – 3), Willie Groome, Andy Dermody, Terry Rossiter, James Kelly (0 – 1).Sub: Mick Costello (0 – 1)

Referee: Declan Peppard