SFL Div 2: Clonmore 0-12 Ballon 2-10

November 8, 2018

Ballon gave their chances of qualifying for the league semi-finals a major boost with this hard earned win over Clonmore at Woodside on Sunday evening.

Clonmore were slightly the better team in the first half and kicked some fine points from Niall Humphries, Jamie Walsh, Owen Coleman and Gavin Byrne. But they failed to convert a number of goal chances as stout defending from Ballon kept their net intact – Clonmore’s only return a point by Jamie Walsh after a rasper by Owen Coleman came back to him off the post. Half-time score: 0-6 to 0-5 in favour of the home team.

Ballon started the second half in determined fashion and kicked three unanswered points from their dynamic duo, Michael O’Leary (2) and Alan Kelly. Clonmore rallied and drew level with points from Con Murphy and Coleman but the bigger Ballon team were playing the more direct football and lively wing-forward Tom Murphy, and bustling midfielder, Peter Zerafa, kicked two more excellent points. Then wing back, David Wilson, stole forward to get on the end of a clever pass from Alan Kelly to finish a great move to the net – 1-10 to 0-8 for Ballon on 48 minutes.

Clonmore closed the gap to a goal with two points from the accurate boot of Gavin Byrne but they were inclined to over elaborate which played into the hands of the tough tackling Ballon backs. As Clonmore chased the game, Ballon broke away for another well taken goal from full-forward Karl Nolan in the dying minutes to seal their victory.

Clonmore: Colin McGrath, James Doyle, Wesley Byrne, John Kelly, Paul Byrne, David Mulvany, Willie Byrne, Ronan Doyle, Gavin Byrne (0-3,3f), John McGrath (0-1), Con Murphy (0-1), Jamie Walsh (0-2), PJ Byrne, Owen Coleman (0-4,1”45”), Niall Humphries (0-1). Sub: Shane McGrath.

Ballon: William Fanning, Brendan Barry, William Byrne, John Gittens, Jimmy Maher, Jimmy O’Brien, David Wilson (1-0), Shane Byrne, Peter Zerafa (0-1), Brendan Fanning, Alan Kelly (0-4,3f), Tom Murphy (0-2), Michael O’Leary (0-3,1f), Karl Nolan (1-0), Frank Fanning. Subs: James Doyle, Dan Fanning, Dessie Nolan.

Ref: Seamie Doyle (Fighting Cocks).