SFL Div 2: Clonmore 1-11 Leighlinbridge 0-9

November 8, 2018

9 June 2009: Senior Football League Division Two

Clonmore finish with a win

Clonmore     1-11      Leighlinbridge     0-9

Clonmore ended their Division Two league campaign with a good win in Woodside last Tuesday evening to ensure a share of top spot and a place in the semi-finals.


Leighlinbridge opened very brightly with points from Eanna Ryan, Brian Kavanagh (0-2) and impressive centre-back Emmet Moore (0-2) to lead the sluggish home side by 0-5 to 0-3 after 25 minutes.  Having scored two points earlier, Con Murphy was revelling in his new role at full-forward and he stung the All-Blacks with a brilliant goal on 26 minutes. Picking up the ball forty yards out, he raced through the Leighlin defence and sold dummy solos with both feet before planting the ball firmly in the roof of Chris Kearney’s net. Two minutes later Murphy could have had another goal but Kearney pulled off a point blank save.


Points from Gavin Byrne, Enda McGrath and Jamie Doyle gave Clonmore a flattering lead of 1-6 to 0-5 at half-time.


The second half was fairly pedestrian as Clonmore kept themselves comfortably ahead and, in spite of Johnny Kavanagh’s efforts, Leighlin just did not have the firepower to trouble the men in red and green. Points by Gavin Byrne (0-2), Enda McGrath and Con Murphy and a fine long range effort from John Connolly guaranteed the points for the home side. For Leighlin, Brian Kavanagh always looked threatening and scored three more frees to add to his two in the first half, the other Leighlin second half point coming from full-forward Eanna Ryan.


For Clonmore, Colin Doyle marshalled the defence well along with Bobby Rooney and Paddy Gahan who had a fine game on his return from injury. Others to shine were John Connolly, Enda McGrath and Con Murphy. Leighlinbridge were best served by Paul Dermody, Emmett Moore, Johnny Kavanagh, Mick Nevin, Brian Kavanagh and Eanna Ryan.


* Clonmore Juniors received a walkover from Asca in Division Four.

Clonmore: Paudge McGrath, John Kelly, Colin Doyle, Ger Doyle, Wesley Byrne, Bobby Rooney, Paddy Gahan (0-1), John Connolly (0-1), Pauric Lawlor, Paul Byrne, Enda McGrath (0-2) Gavin Byrne (0-4, 3 frees), Jamie Doyle (0-1), Con Murphy (1-2), John McGrath. Subs: Niall Humphries, PJ Byrne.

Leighlinbridge: Chris Kearney, Paul Dermody, Adrian Dermody, John Townsend, Willie Kearney, Emmett Moore (0-2), Eddie Dermody, Johnny Kavanagh, Conor Nolan, Adrian McNally, Mick Nevin, Dinny Byrne, Brian Kavanagh (0-5, frees), Eana Ryan (0-2), Raymond Kane. Sub (unused): Hughie Kelly.

Referee: John Dunphy (Eire Og).