SFL Div 2 FINAL Replay: Clonmore 0-9 St Andrews 0-7

November 8, 2018

Another good week for the Intermediates who proved that their performance in the County Final was merely an aberration by defeating their conquerors St Andrews in the replayed SFL Division 2 final by 0-9 to 0-7 (HT: 0-6 to 0-3). Clonmore were the better team throughout and should have won by more but missed a couple of goal chances and had a penalty saved in the dying minutes. The Clonmore supporters had to endure some scary moments towards the end as we defended a two point lead and Bagenalstown went in search of a winning goal. But the defence put their bodies on the line and held out for a famous victory and a fitting reward for the hard work put in all year. Well done to this very dedicated group of players and mentors, Paddy Molloy (Trainer), Dermot Byrne, Robert Rooney, Norman Mulvany and John Connolly.

Team: Michael Murray, Paul Byrne, Wesley Byrne, John Kelly, Pauric Lawlor, Ronan Doyle, Shane Murphy, Gavin Byrne (0-3, 2f)David Mulvany (0-1), Enda McGrath, Con Murphy, John McGrath (0-2), Niall Humphries (0-1), Owen Coleman (0-1), Shane McGrath (0-1). Subs: PJ Byrne for Owen (inj), James Doyle for Shane McGrath (inj), Willie Byrne for John Kelly, Paul Hogan for John McGrath.
PHOTO: Team with cup (see Photo Gallery for more photos): Back (l to r): John Connolly, Dermot Byrne, John Kelly, Robert Rooney, Gavin Byrne, Darren McGrath, David Mulvany, Wesley Byrne, James Doyle, Darragh Kelly, Colin McGrath, Shane McGrath, PJ Byrne, John McGrath, Mark A Byrne, Norman Mulvany. Front: Mark D Byrne, Paul Hogan, Con Murphy, Owen Coleman, Willie Byrne, Pauric Lawlor (Captain), Paul Byrne, Shane Murphy, Niall Humphries, Michael Murray, Enda McGrath, Ronan Doyle, Paddy Molloy (Trainer).

Clonmore has now won six Division Two titles – in 1974 we beat Palatine 1-9 to 0-9; 1977 beat Fighting Cocks 2-10 to 0-2; 1981 beat Old Leighlin 0-7 to 0-2; 1990 beat Fenagh 3-14 to 1-10 (after losing to them in the Championship final) and in 1998 we beat Tullow 3-11 to 2-3. On all previous occasions, winning Division Two resulted in promotion to Division One but unfortunately nowadays only the Intermediate Championship winners get promoted. The club has two Division One titles – 1956 and 57 – and contested finals in 1963 and 2001.