SFL Div 2 semi-final: Clonmore 1-12 Ballinabranna 0-8.

November 8, 2018

Clonmore qualified for the Final of SFL Division 2 with a hard earned win over a battling Ballinabranna team in Dr Cullen Park last Sunday and will now play St Andrews in the Final next Sunday evening.

Clonmore opened brightly with points from James Doyle, Niall Humphries and Owen Coleman but it was a well worked and expertly executed goal by Coleman in the 15th minute which put Clonmore into the driving seat with a 1-3 to 0-1 lead. The physically stronger B’branna men hit back with points by Jim Dunne (2), Damien Sheehan and Brian Kinsella to reduce the arrears to 4 points at half-time 1-5 to 0-4.

Ballinanranna tried hard to get back into the game in the second half with Damien Sheehan a constant threat and Paddy Dunne and Willie Ryan doing well at midfield. Two quick points by Sheehan left only a goal between the teams – 1-6 to 0-6 on 40 mins, but the young Clonmore team regained control by playing to their strengths, moving the ball quickly and tackling like demons. Goalkeeper Collie McGrath, Padraig Lawlor, Gavin Byrne, Ronan Doyle, Owen Coleman and Con Murphy were outstanding for Clonmore as they scored some fine points to run out comfortable winners in the end.

Clonmore: Colin McGrath, Paul Byrne, Wesley Byrne, John Kelly, Pauric Lawlor, David Mulvany, Willie Byrne, Gavin Byrne (0-3, 1f), Ronan Doyle (0-1), James Doyle (0-1), Con Murphy (0-3,1’45’), Jamie Walsh, Shane McGrath(0-1), Owen Coleman (1-2), Niall Humphries (0-1). Subs: Shane Murphy, Enda McGrath, PJ Byrne.
Ballinabranna: Jason Carter, Sean Dunne, Ray Buggy, Michael Kelly, John Sheehan, Gary Dunne, Bobby Daly, Willie Ryan, Paddy Dunne, Brian Kinsella (0-2), Jim Dunne (0-2,1’45), Willie Kavanagh, Jimmy Sheehan, James Kehoe, Damien Sheehan (0-3,3f). Subs: Graham Amond, Adrian Brennan (0-1), Owen Paul Keating.
Ref: John Hickey (Fenagh).