SFL Div 4 FINAL: Clonmore 1-10 Ballinabranna 0-8

November 8, 2018

Clonmore opened in whirlwind fashion to race into a three point lead after just five minutes with excellent from PJ Byrne (2) and Shane McGrath. But then Ballinabranna started to dominate at midfield and Clonmore found it hard to get the ball past half-way. In a major turnaround, B’branna kicked seven unanswered points to lead by 0-7 to 0-3 just before half-time before Shane McGrath kicked an important point to eave lthe score at the break 0-7 to 0-4.
Clonmore brought on Kevin McCarney at half-time and the blond flyer had an immediate impact – racing through the defence in typical fashion he was scythed down just inside the square for a penalty and Shane McGrath sent a rocket to the roof of the net to level the scores. The sides were level for a long spell in the middle of the second half but in the last ten minutes the fitness of the Clonmore players came to the fore and B’ranna just could not cope with their speed and accuracy of our young forwards. Having said that, it was experienced captain, Jamie Doyle, who led by example with two great points before Shane McGrath (2) and PJ Byrne finished the scoring to give Clonmore a thoroughly deserved victory.
There was joyous scenes as County Chairman, Michael Meaney, presented the cup to Jamie Doyle, standing in for the absent Clive Lambe who he remembered in his victory speech along with another regular, Colin Doyle, who were both away on holidays.
In a great team performance, Mark Hennessy used his huge kick-outs to good effect, John Kelly had a fine game at full-back flanked by his two young lieutenants Martin Doyle and Mark D Byrne. Paul Hogan did very well in the half back-line and Mikey Murray was solid at centre-back when he came on in he second half.  The midfelders had their hands full up against two Intermediate players but they did a lot of good work. It was the forwards who won the day with all seven of them including sub Kevin McCarney bamboozling the B’branna back with their speed and movement. Once again Shane McGrath was a class act, PJ Byrne and Jamie Doyle played some great football and Collie McGrath worked himself into the ground.
Well done to all the players and to Selectors Tommy Kelly, James Doyle, Stephen Byrne and Des Byrne – happy days are here again ! 
Team: Mark Hennessy, Martin Doyle, John Kelly, Mark D Byrne, Alan Byrne, Willie Byrne, Paul Hogan, John McGrath, Dara Conway, Darren McGrath, Collie McGrath, PJ Byrne (0-3), Jamie Doyle (0-2), Denis Quigley, Shane McGrath (1-5). Subs:  Kevin MCarney, Mike Murray, Thomas Tallon.

PHOTO: Captain, Jamie Doyle, in happy mood as he receives the cup from County Chairman, Michael Meaney.