Six All Stars for the Jackies

November 8, 2018

Six of the best for Jackies in All Star awards

14 Nov 2010 |

Senior All-Ireland winners Dublin collected six All Star awards at the 2010 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All-Star Awards at the CityWest Hotel on Saturday night.

The Jackies were rewarded for winning their first All-Ireland senior championship title with Rachel Ruddy, Siobhan McGrath, Gemma Fay, Denise Masterson, Amy McGuinness and Sinead Aherne all picking up awards.

All-Ireland runners up Tyrone collected a deserved four All Stars on the night with awards going to captain Sinead McLaughlin, Golden Boot winner Gemma Begley and sisters Cathy and Joline Donnelly – a first for the Ladies Football All Stars.

There were two All Stars for Laois with both Lorraine Muckian and Tracey Lawlor picking up awards.  The remaining All Stars went to Brid Stack of Cork, Donegal’s Yvonne McMonagle and Kerry goalkeeper Edel Murphy.

GAA president Christy Cooney was the guest of honour at the prestigious event which was filmed live for deferred airing on TG4.  Entertainment was provided on the night by Frances Black, Tommy Flemming, the Ennis Gospel Choir and World champion bodhrán player Amy Farrell while Marty Morrissey and Daithi O Sé orchestrated proceedings.

The Young Players of the Year Awards went to Sarah Rowe (Kilmoremoy, Ballina, Mayo – CONNACHT), Sarah McCaffrey (Clontarf, Dublin – LEINSTER), Nicole O’Connor (Ballyduff/Abbeydorney, Kerry – MUNSTER) and Kirsty McGuinness (St Paul’s, Antrim – ULSTER).

The induction of Johnny Hayes into the Ladies Football Hall of Fame also took place on the night.  Hayes created the Ballyhea Ladies club in 1983 and then played an instrumental role in the club’s amalgamation with Lissycasey in 1986 to form the Fergus Rovers club.

Hayes has been involved in coaching county teams from underage to senior level and has fulfilled a number of roles on the county board including Treasurer and Chairperson.  He has served as Munster’s delegate to Central Council and acted as Munster President in 1992/93.  Hayes refereed a number of All Ireland finals over the years and is still actively involved in Ladies Football and is serving another term as Clare’s County Chairperson.

Pat Quill, President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, said “The growth of our Association at home and abroad is a tribute to the work being done on a voluntary basis by players, parents, teachers, coaches, administrators and supporters allied with the coverage of the print and broadcast media and in particular to our championship sponsors TG4. On behalf of our Association I wish to express our gratitude to O’Neills and TG4 as it would not be possible to stage an event like this without their financial support.”

Pól O’Gallchóir, Ceannasaí TG4, said, “It has been another historic and ground-breaking year for the partnership between TG4 and Cumann Peil Gael na mBan.  We got off to a great start with the memorable All Star trip to San Francisco and then the football season began in earnest in Spring.  We witnessed many thrilling finishes during the year, two of them on All-Ireland Final day with those present in Croke Park and TG4 viewers all on the edge of their seats right till the final hooter.”

2010 ALL STARS TEAM: 1. Edel Murphy (Kerry) 2. Rachel Ruddy (Dublin) 3. Lorraine Muckian (Laois) 4. Sinead McLaughlin (Tyrone) 5. Siobhan McGrath 6. Brid Stack 7. Gemma Fay (Dublin) 8. Denise Masterson (Dublin) 9. Tracey Lawlor (Laois) 10. Cathy Donnelly (Tyrone) 11. Gemma Begley (Tyrone) 12. Amy McGuinness 13. Yvonne McMonagle 14. Sinead Aherne (Dublin) 15.1 Joline Donnelly (Tyrone)