Six Dubs make Opel GPA Team of Year nominations

November 8, 2018

Dublin have received six nominations for the Opel GPA Hurling Team of the Year – Tomás Brady, Oisín Gough, Stephen Hiney, Alan McCrabbe, David O’Callaghan and David Treacy.
The shortlists were drawn up by a selection committee headed up by Chairman Donal O’Grady. The winners will be selected by GPA members.
Commenting on the announcement, Chairman of the Hurling Selection Committee, Donal O’Grady said, “The GPA scheme offers the players a major input into team selection.
The selection committee has put forward what it believes are the three best nominations for the various positions and the players will now make the ultimate choice and select their best player for the 15 individual places – no doubt creating debate and analysis of their selections as happens with all awards.”
Dave Sheeran, Managing Director, Opel Ireland, said, “The announcement of the Hurling shortlist for 2009 reflects the fact that this season’s championship was extremely competitive with players from seven counties making the shortlist. The nominations recognise the huge contribution and effort these players have made to the continuing success of the sport. I look forward to celebrating their achievements at the Opel GPA Awards ceremony on Friday, 6th November.”
Dessie Farrell, Chief Executive of the Gaelic Players Association said, “Kilkenny’s success in achieving an historic four-in-a-row capped a memorable hurling season in which the champions were pushed all the way by Tipperary. Last month’s All-Ireland final was a testimony to the ambition and dedication of the top two counties this season and this is reflected in their 23 combined nominations. The players will now decide who will be honoured in each position. Congratulations to all the nominees, thanks to our selection committee headed by Donal O’Grady and thanks to Opel for their continued support of this unique awards scheme.”

1. Brendan Cummins (Tipperary) / Donal Óg Cusack (Cork)/ PJ Ryan (Kilkenny)
2. Ollie Canning (Galway) / Michael Kavanagh (Kilkenny) / Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary)
3. Tomás Brady (Dublin) / JJ Delaney (Kilkenny) / Eoin Cadogan (Cork)
4. Oisín Gough (Dublin) / Shane ONeill (Cork) /Jackie Tyrrell (Kilkenny)
5. Declan Fanning (Tipperary) / Stephen Hiney (Dublin) / Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny)
6. John Lee (Galway)/ Conor OMahony (Tipperary) / Michael Walsh (Waterford)
7. Mark Foley (Limerick) / Pádraic Maher (Tipperary) / John Tennyson (Kilkenny)
8/9. Seamus Hickey (Limerick) / Alan McCrabbe (Dublin) / Shane McGrath (Tipperary) /
Stephen Molumphy (Waterford) / Michael Rice (Kilkenny) / James Woodlock (Tipperary)
10. Eddie Brennan Kilkenny / Aonghus Callanan (Galway) / Ben OConnor Cork
11. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary) /Martin Comerford (Kilkenny) / Cyril Donnellan (Galway)
12. Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny) /John O’Brien (Tipperary) / Andy Smith (Galway)
13. Noel McGrath (Tipperary) /John Mullane (Waterford) / David O’Callagan (Dublin)
14. Joe Canning (Galway) / Eoin Kelly (Tipperary) / Henry Shefflin (Kilkenny)
15. Lar Corbett (Tipperary) / David Treacy (Dublin) / Eoin Kelly (Waterford)

Nominees for Opel GPA Player of the Year for Hurling: Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny), Lar Corbett (Tipperary) and John Mullane (Waterford).

Monthly Award Winners:
Each month, between May and October, a Footballer and a Hurler are rewarded for their performances on the field. Three nominees are chosen by GPA Selection Committees with players having the final vote for the overall winner via text. In addition to receiving the much coveted award, each player receives €1,000.

Gala Event:
The Opel GPA Awards culminate in a Gala Evening on Friday, 6th November in the City West Hotel, Dublin when the Opel GPA Hurling and Football Teams of the Year are presented with their Awards on stage and the Opel GPA Hurler and Footballer of the Year are chosen on the night. Each player on the winning team receives a trophy, €2,500 and a comprehensive set of training and leisure gear. The chosen Hurler and Footballer of the Year each receive an Opel vehicle to the value of €25,000 in addition to the abov