South Leinster Schools Senior Football D Semi-final

November 8, 2018

South Leinster Schools Senior Football D Semi-final

Coláiste Eoin, Hacketstown 2-10

Coláiste Eamon Rís, Callan  0-03

Coláiste Eoin captured this title just over twelve months ago and Darragh Kelly lined out his side with a mixture of both youth and experience on Monday last for this South Leinster Football clash with CBS Callan in Hacketstown. With nine U16 players starting it’s fair to say that this is a team in ‘transition’. The Kilkenny side matched the Carlow outfit in the early stages and pointed five minutes in with a fine long-range effort from Ryan Bergin. It took the Carlow side some time to settle down with some fine individual scores from Stephen Coogan and Clonmore’s Adam Byrne. However in the second quarter Coláiste Eoin were hesitant at times and missed several chances to put the game beyond the reach of their opponents. In fact the Kilkenny side looked to sharper and had the Carlow side’s half-back line on the back foot in the opening exchanges. Eoghan Scriven pointed twice in the 16th and 20th minute for Callan. It wasn’t until a 25th minute goal from Pádraig O’ Toole that the Hacketstown lads seemed to find their stride. Daniel Quigley’s goal on the stroke of half-time left the score 2-2 to 0-3 in favour of the home side. The second half began with Captain Adam Byrne leading by example tagging on three points from play. Clonmore’s Luke Mullen impressed at mid-field alongside the experienced Pádraig Byrne of Ballymanus with Darragh Byrne being immense at full back. In fairness to Callan, they never gave up. However the home side were more clinical in front of goal. Dale MacNamara, a thorn in the Callan defence all afternoon, split the posts on four occasions. In the closing stages substitute Josh Bowes impressed with a fine score on 55 minutes. Coláiste Eoin ran out easy winners in the end 2-10 to 0-3. The Carlow side will square up to either Avondale CS or Ramsgrange CS in the South Leinster Final next week.


Coláiste Eoin: 1. F. Whelan (Clonmore), 2. B. Kearney (Kiltegan), 3. D. Byrne (Ballymanus), 4. J. Hickey (Clonmore), 5. K. Doyle (Clonmore), 6. J. Daly (Kiltegan), 7. R. Fenton (Kiltegan), 8. L. Mullen (Clonmore), 9. P. Byrne (Ballymanus), 10. Adam Byrne (Clonmore)(0-3), 11. P. O’Toole (Kiltegan) (1-0), 12. J. Byrne (Clonmore), 13. D. Quigley (Clonmore)(1-0), 14. D. MacNamara (Clonmore) (0-4),    15. S. Coogan (Kiltegan)(0-1) Subs: T. Whelan (Knockananna) for F. Whelan 30’, Alan Byrne (Knockananna) for Quigley 42’, A. O’Neill (Knockananna) for Kearney 45’, A. Teevan (Knockananna) for Coogan, J. Bowes (Clonmore)(0-1) for Fenton 51’ S. Kelly (Kiltegan) for Hickey

CBS Callan: 1. D. Power, 2. K. Fitzpatrick, 3. M. Kenneally, 4. J. Bradley, 5. D. Lanigan, 6. D. O’Shea, 7. K. Lanigan, 8. P. Cahill, 9. K. Fitzpatrick, 10.E. Scriven (0-2), 11. R. Bergin (0-1), 12. J. Price, 13. L. Murray, 14. J. Power, 15. N. Butler Subs: J. Culleton for Butler 40’

Referee: Pat Keogh