St Malachy's GAC 8th Annual 'May Steele' Senior Ladies Sevens - Sunday 4th May

November 8, 2018

The 8th Annual seven-a-side ladies football competition for the May Steele Memorial Cup will be held in Castlewellan on Sunday 4th May 2008. The competition honours the memory of May Steele the founder and former President of ladies football in Castlewellan as well as being a life long Gael and tireless worker for the St Malachy’s Club.

This earlier date for the annual competition has proved very popular with a record entry of 24 teams from Counties Antrim, Down, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone, Dublin and Monaghan. They will once again be competing for the perpetual May Steele trophy, as well as individual players prizes of bronze Cuhcuhulain Statuettes. Belfast Crystal individual prizes will be presented to the runners-up and the Club are grateful to Belfast Crystal who will this year sponsor the ‘player of the tournament’ trophy. In addition the ‘player of the tournament’ will receive an O’Neill’s sports gear voucher compliments of O’Neill’s Sportswear.

The teams will be once again divided into groups that will play-off on a league basis on four separate venues in Castlewellan. The group winners and runners-up will then play the final stages of the competition in St Malachy’s Park on a knockout basis, thus guaranteeing each participating team a minimum of 3 games. The competition will commence at approximately 10.30am with team registration between 9.00am and 10.00am. The quarterfinals should commence about 2.30pm with the final scheduled to take place at approximately 5.00pm the same evening.

The winners banquet follows the presentations immediately after the final, and then its time for the enjoyable social side of the event when old and new acquaintances get a chance to make and renew friendships and the evening is rounded off with a live band dance. Accommodation is available in the town for many of the teams that like to make the Castlewellan Sevens a special bank holiday week-end away.

Castlewellan Ladies team are the present holder’s of the May Steele Trophy and teams competing for the trophy this year include, Monaghan Harps, Scotstown and Donaghmoyne County Monaghan, Raheny Dublin, Naomh Gall and St Paul’s Antrim, Dromintee and Eire Og Armagh, Glen from Derry, Loughmacrory and Moy Tyrone and Down teams Bryansford, Downpatrick, Burren, Aughlisnafin, Clonduff and the holders Castlewellan.

 We look forward to welcoming your Club in Castlewellan on Sunday 4th May ‘08

For further information telephone An Runai on 07788591740 (Mobile)
02843778422 (Club House)