St. Patrick's Ladies GAA Club notes

November 7, 2018

St.  Patrick's Ladies GAA Club held their AGM on Friday the 25th of November in the Clubrooms in Cloneen.  Helen Hogan outgoing club secretary gave a comprehensive overview of club activities for the previous 12 months.  Highlights throughout the year included: the consistent number of juvenile girls playing football with the club from Under 6's to minor level (109 girls), with a total of 148 registered members, including 14 junior players and 21 G4O ladies.  On the field of play silverware this year was won by the u14 girls team winning the county u14 C blitz competition and then going on to win the C championship and the u16 girls team winning the county D plate competition.  The junior ladies team tried hard throughout the league and championship campaign but came up short in the junior D final against Arravale Rovers.  The G4O ladies enjoyed a number of challenge games and social outings throughout the year.  Acknowledgement was also given to a number of juvenile players on county teams and development squads, with special mention going to Eimear Boland on winning her second All Ireland medal with the county u14 team and Niamh Keane who was part of the successful Under 16 county panel.  Siobhan Vaughan outgoing treasurer gave a detailed report on the finances of the club throughout the year.  Trish Strappe outgoing chairwoman thanked all players and parents and in particular acknowledged the work of all the coaches at all grades. Trish also thanked her fellow officers and committee members for all their work and efforts throughout the year, to ensure that all club activities run smoothly. A minute's silence was held in memory of family members and friends associated with the club who had passed away during the year.


Election of officers for 2017: Chairwoman: Siobhan Vaughan, Vice Chairwoman: Breda Dunne, Secretary: Shelia Butler, Assistant Secretary: Helen Hogan, Treasurer: Trish Strappe, Assistant Treasurer: Siobhan Vaughan, Registrar: Paula Ryan, Assistant Registrar: Trish Strappe, Child Welfare Officer: Margaret Hogan, Designated Liaison Officer: Siobhan Dunne, PRO position not filled on the night. 


Coaches for 2017: Under 6: Maeve Browne and Anita Hennebry, Under 8: Gerry Kelly, Aileen Sugrue & Molly O Brien, Under 10: Audrey Moroney, Edward O Brien & Margaret Hogan, Under 12: Siobhan Vaughan , Catriona Boland & Shelia Butler, Under 14: Helen Hogan, Úna O'Brien, Eamonn Murphy & Trish Strappe, Under 16 proposed to have same coaching team as Under 14's, to be decided, Minor: Pat Morrissey & Another, Junior Team: to be decided, G40 Ladies: Trish Strappe & Mairead Foley.


Best wishes to all incoming officers and coaches for the year ahead and a huge thanks to all outgoing officers and committee members, for all their behind the scenes work, that ensured the club run so efficiently throughout 2016.   Good luck to all for 2017!