St Patricks reach U21 Quarter Final

November 8, 2018

St Patrick’s produced a very solid display in this very one sided game in Edenderry on Friday night. Despite a comfortable win over Shamrocks in the previous round, St Patrick’s had not played well and showed much more determination and fight against Clara.

Philip Farrell opened the scoring for St Patrick’s after just two minutes but Clara leveled matters in the sixth minute. That would be Clara’s only score of the first half as St Patrick’s would go on to dominate.

Points from Sean Doyle, Peter O’Neill, Stuart Cullen and Philip Farrell gave St Pat’s a four point lead with seventeen minutes on the clock.

Philip Farrell pointed a free on the twentieth minute and a minute later Sean Moriarty kicked a great score to put the reds six clear. Two late points from Stuart Cullen before half time gave St Patrick’s a commanding eight point lead but they still had to call on goalkeeper Ciaran Cummins in the dying seconds but Ciaran pulled off a tremendous save after some sloppy defending.

Half time:
St Patrick’s 0-9 0-1 Clara

David Hanlon kicked the opening score of the second half within the first minute after a great run through the middle. Clara responded with their second point of the game but a Sean Doyle point quickly cancelled that out. Clara had a ten minute dominate spell but only managed one score in the thirteenth minute before Sean Doyle rattled the net to end the game as a contest in the seventeenth minute.

Just one minute later Sean Moriarty had the ball in the net to stretch St Pat’s lead to fourteen points.
Philip Farrell made way for Shane Forde who made an immediate impact with a great left footed strike. Late scores from Peter O’Neill, Aaron O’Connell and Derek Kelly rounded off the scoring for the home side and in the twenty eight minute Clara scored their fourth and last point.

Full time:
St Patrick’s 2-15 0-4 Clara.

Man of the match: David Hanlon

Team sheet:
Ciaran Cummins, Aaron O’Connell(0-1), Dan Moloney, Andrew Forde, Gary Blong, David Hanlon(0-1), Dan Nolan, Derek Kelly(0-1), Mark Young, Peter O’Neill(0-2), Philip Farrell(0-3), Sean Moriarty(1-1), Dan Ryan, Sean Doyle(1-2), Stuart Cullen(0-3).

Shane Forde(0-1) for Philip Farrell, Jason Farrell for Dan Ryan, Shane Cronin for Andrew Forde, Jamie Dolan for Peter O’Neill, Andrew Forde for David Hanlon(inj).