The DUBS retain div. 1 status

November 8, 2018


Dublin preserved their NFL Division 1 status when totally outclassing the already relegated Westmeath in Parnell Park on Sunday.

From first whistle til last Dublin were on top in most sectors of the field as they overwhelmed their beleagured opponents and with Derry defeating Donegal in Maghera their top-flight status was maintained for 2010.

Within 20 seconds of the start Blaine Kelly split the posts after a mishit point effort from Mark Davoren was broken into the path of the Saggart man by the highly influential Conal Keaney.

Two minutes later Alan Brogan fired over off his left as Dublin went for the jugular early on.

In the 14th minute Dublin put away their first of five goals when an angled delivery from the hard-working Pat Burke skipped into the hand of Conal Keaney and his drove his shot emphatically to the roof of the net.

By the interval Dublin had stretched their lead to 2-15 to 0-4 when Paul Flynn finished off an impressive move that began down the right wing from a Stephen Cluxton kickout and involved the industrious David Henry, Darren Magee, Paul Griffin and Barry Cahill before Keaney steered the ball into the path of Flynn to finish past Cathal Mullen.

Two minutes earlier Cluxton foiled Denis Glennon from the penalty spot.

Dublin could canter through the second half with Ciáran Whelan adding the third goal after his move to full-forward and Kilmacud duo Darren Magee and Pat Burke both also blasting past Mullen.

SCORERS – Dublin: C Keaney 1-7 (0-1f, 0-1 45), B Kelly 0-6 (0-3f), A Brogan 0-4, C Whelan, D Magee, P Flynn, P Burke 1-0 each, B Cahill, M Davoren 0-2 each, G Brennan 0-1. Westmeath: D Glennon 0-6 (0-2f), N Kilcoyne, K Scally, P Bannon, T McDaniel 0-1 each.
DUBLIN – S Cluxton; D Henry, D Bastick, A Hubbard; P Griffin, G Brennan, B Cahill; C Whelan, D Magee; A Brogan, K Bonner, P Flynn; C Keaney, M Davoren, B Kelly. Subs: P Burke for Bonner (yellow card, 5), B Cullen for Griffin (half-time), R McConnell for Davoren (48), T Quinn for Kelly (53), M Vaughan for Keaney (55).
WESTMEATH – C Mullen; J Keane, K Gavin, F Boyle; A Claffey, D Heavin, D Harte; N Kilcoyne, D Duffy; M Ennis, C Reilly, J Smyth; C Lynam, D Glennon, K Scally. Subs: T McDaniel for Gavin (17), W Murtagh for Harte (yellow, 24), P Bannon for Ennis (half-time), D Kilmartin for Kilcoyne (45), A Clinton for Scally (53), P Kelly for Lynam (55), J Clarke for Claffey (59).
REF – G O Conamha (Galway).

Report from Hill 16