The junior team suffer defeat away to Aghamore. Aghamore 5-12 Mayo Gaels 1-10

November 8, 2018

Aghamore 5-12 Mayo Gaels 1-10

The junior team suffered another defeat in their league campaign away to Aghamore on Friday evening.


Aghamore were first to put their mark on the game with a point in the opening minute. John Byrne replied for the Gaels with a free almost immediately after. Aghamore found their form, grabbing possession in midfield they advanced forward and calmly slotted to the back the back of the net. Hard work by Damien Quinn saw him add to the Gaels tally with a point from play. John Byrne showed accuracy with a well taken free. Aghamore soon took command with a goal on the 12th minute of the half to leave four between the sides. A great fetch by Damien Quinn in the centre of the field reached the lively John Byrne for a well taken point from play. Aghamore responded once again with a point from play before Neil McGurrin got his mark on the game with a point. A free from John Byrne narrowed the gap, but Aghamore were hot on their heels, notching up two points from play in a matter of seconds. The Gaels got the final shout in before half time with a free from Damien Quinn and a point from Neil McGurrin leaving a half time scoreline of Aghamore 2-4 Mayo Gaels 0-8.


No sooner was the ball thrown in for the second half, Aghamore were hot in pursuit of their third goal, and got it they did running straight through the heart of the Gaels defence. Neil McGurrin got the Gaels back on track with a point for their first score of the half. An Aghamore point was soon responded to by John Byrne with a point from a free. But Aghamore soon broke free with 3 points in quick succession widening the gap between the sides. Joe Gilroy added a goal for the Gaels but it only softened the view of the scoreboard as in the closing minutes Aghamore notched up 2-3 to leave a full time scoreline of Aghamore 5-12 Mayo Gaels 1-10.


The Gaels were best served by the ever industrious Damien Quinn and a fine scorer in the form of John Byrne.


Mayo Gaels Team: Martin Connor, Aiden Jennings, Dermot Browne, Noel Morris, Noel Quinn, Kevin Brett, Mark Adams, John Sloyan, Ollie Browne, Joe Gilroy (1-0), Damien Quinn, (0-2, 1f) Neil McGurrin (0-3), Noel Burke, John Byrne (0-5, 4f), Stephen Gibbons. Substitutions: Eddie Hurst for Stephen Gibbons, Stephen Gibbons for Aiden Jennings.