U-21 "B" FINAL: Clonmore 0-11 Fenagh 2-12

November 8, 2018

Clonmore U-21s put up a gutsy performance before going down to a strong Fenagh team who have now won back-to-back U-21 ‘B’ titles.

The half-time score was 0-7 to 0-3 for Fenagh but within six minutes of the re-start Clonmore had drawn level with great points from Mark A Byrne, Niall Humphries and PJ Byrne (2). Fenagh responded with a quick goal by Marty Dalton and went up a gear to extend their lead to 1-11 to 0-7 by the 45th minute. Clonmore continued to battle gamely but the goal we needed never came and instead Fenagh got a second goal with five minutes to go to finish the game as a contest. Well done to all the U-21s for putting in a big effort this year and on getting to the final. With only three players overage next year, we should be aiming to go one step futher in the 2012 Championship.
Team: Daragh Kelly, James Doyle, Shane Murphy, Mark D Byrne, Gordon Hickey, Willie Byrne, Paul Hogan, Enda McGrath, PJ Byrne (0-2, 1f), Mark A Byrne (0-1), Michael Murray (0-1, f), Darren McGrath (0-1), Shane McGrath, Paddy Doyle, Niall Humphries (0-5, 2f). Subs: David McCarney, Kevin McCarney (0-1), Martin Doyle.
Photo: Back (left to right): PJ Byrne, Willie Rooney, Willie Byrne, Paddy Doyle, Daragh Kelly, Mark A Byrne, Shane McGrath, Darren McGrath, Gordon Hickey, Shane Murphy.
Front: Mark D Byrne, James Doyle, Niall Humphries, Michael Murray (Captain), Paul Hogan, Enda McGrath, Martin Doyle, David McCarney, Kevin McCarney.