U-21 C'ship S/Final: Clonmore 2-10 Mount Leinster Rangers 2-6

November 8, 2018

Clonmore’s lively forwards were on fire in the first half and they led by ten points (2-7 to 0-3) at half-time, the goals coming from Niall Humphries and Shane McGrath.
However, the second half belonged to MLR as they laid siege to the Clonmore goal and forced the men in red & green into some desperate defending resulting in a number of goal-line clearances and the concesion of THREE penalties. The first penalty was put wide by Ranger’s star player, Eddie Byrne. The second was scored by wing back Tom Huff. The third and most dramatic penalty came in the 58th minute with only three points between the teams. An MLR goal at this stage would probably have sent the game into extra time but this time Huff’s effort was well saved by the Clonmore keeper Daragh Kelly. A late point by Darren McGrath put the icing on the cake to give the Clonmore men a hard earned win and a place in the final against Fenagh this (Tuesday) evening in Dr Cullen Park at 7pm.

Clonmore: Daragh Kelly, Gordon Hickey, Shane Murphy, Mark D Byrne, James Doyle, Michael Murray (0-1), Paul Hogan, Enda McGrath, Willie Byrne, Shane McGrath (1-3), PJ Byrne (0-2), Darren McGrath (0-1), Mark A Byrne, Paddy Doyle (0-1), Niall Humphries (1-2).
Mount Leinster Rangers: Seamus Kelly, Anthony Murphy, Michael O’Grady, MJ Doran, Thomas Huff, Rary Kelly, Seamus O’Brien, Michael Doyle, Jack Murphy, Luke Roche, Edward Byrne, Diarmuid Byrne, Conor Hayes, Paul Coady, James Barron.
Referee: Billy Fanning (Ballon).