U12 Hurlers win

November 8, 2018

Edenderry U12 Hurlers travelled to Ballycumber to take on Brosna Gaels in the final round of the Championship on Saturday Aug 1st and after a very competitive game emerged victorious on a scoreline of 6-08 to 5-03.

Edenderry opened the scoring with a point from play by Aaron Holt. This was followed by the score of the year. A long ball by Lee Hyland was controlled on his hurl by Patrick Rickard and without handling the ball he placed the ball over the goalkeeper to the corner of the net. David Maloney then scored Edenderry’s second goal before Brosna Gaels scored two quick goals to reduce the lead to just one point. Shane Cummins then drove a close range free to the net before Edenderry scored 5 points in succession from Aaron Holt (65), Shane Cummins (free), Lee Hyland (2) and Patrick Rickard.

Half Time score Edenderry 3-06 Brosna Gaels 2-00

Early in the second half Aaron Holt scored a goal and Lee Hyland scored a point from a 65 before Brosna Gaels began a comeback scoring 3-03 during a ten minute spell to again reduce the lead to just one point. However Edenderry rallied quickly with a goal from Aaron Holt following great work by Callum Roche. David Maloney was then sent clear through on goal after excellent play from Shane Cummins and Aaron Holt. David scored a goal with a low shot to the corner of the net. Shane Cummins finished the scoring with a well taken point.

This was an excellent performance by this team and easily the best one of the year. The team finished the year joint third in the group narrowly missing out on a semi-final place. Well done to all players throughout the year. A lot of hard work was put in by them during the season and will no doubt stand to them in the years ahead.Training has now ended for the year but winter training will commence in October. All players will be contacted in advance.

Team & Scorers:

M. Beatty, A Maloney, D Kane, P McNamara, L Hyland (0-03), D Maloney (2-00), A Holt (2-02), C Roche, S Cummins (1-02), J Collins, P Rickard (1-01), E O’Reilly, M Kane, E Dunne.