U14 Division 2 Champions !!!

November 8, 2018

Our U14's were proven unbeaten in the group stages of this year's Division 2 Championship, with wins over Aghamore, Balla, Parke K/C & a walkover against Kiltimagh. On Thursday evening, July 16th, they travelled to Elvery's MacHale Park where their fate against The Neale was to be decided. 

The Gaels started strong with Sean Keane getting them on scoreboard after just over a minute with a point from play, followed by a Myles Durkan free it put the Gaels two up after less than 4 minutes. The Neale soon responded with a point from play. After great play up the field there was no stopping The Gaels' Sean Joyce who buried the ball to the back of the net, no sooner was the ball in play again when Luke Gallagher wanted his share of the spoils and bagged another goal for The Gaels; the scoreline now read 2-2 to 0-1 after 10 minutes. Not long after our goalie, Cormac Henry, pulled off a superb save to keep The Gaels in front. Phelim Prendergast got his name to the scoresheet with a point from play, followed by a free from The Neale. It was almost 5 minutes before another score came, this time The Neale with a point from play. We were moving into the last 10 minutes of the half, and had unfortunately lost one of our stars, Ethan Henry, to injury. Jack Fallon won possession near the mouth of the goal, and with sheer determination, he had only one option in his mind and blasted the ball to the back of The Neale's goal. The Gaels were now 9 points up and The Neale were looking to tighten the gap. They responded with a point from play, but The Gaels weren't going to allow them narrow the gap too much. Ruairi Keane stepped up to edge The Gaels further ahead with a well taken point from play. Again, Cormac Henry showed sheer class and denied The Neale another goal chance. They headed for the dressing rooms at half-time on a scoreline of Mayo Gaels 3-4 The Neale 0-4.
As soon as the ball was thrown in for the second half, The Neale were determined to reduce The Gaels' lead. Goals were on their mind, but thankfully with Cormac Henry between our posts we had no fear. With three shots at goal within a matter of seconds The Neale were denied goal chances, with our goalie pulling off remarkable saves – much to the credit of both sets of supporters. The Neale were still determined to make amends and shot 2 points from play on the 7th & 11th minutes of the half. The Gaels had yet to put their mark on the scoreboard in the second half, but after 13 minutes, David Quinn took matters into his own hands and got The Gaels their first score of the half. Once again, The Neale showed determination, and were trying ruthlessly for a goal. The Gaels however could rest easy, as once again Cormac Henry proved his dominance in the goalmouth to deny them a much sought after extra 3 points. We were now in the last quarter of the game, and the scoreline read Mayo Gaels 3-5 The Neale 0-6. The Neale reduced the deficit with a point from a free, The Gaels soon responded with a Luke Gallagher free. The ball was no sooner back in play, when Myles Durkan added another point from play to his tally. Mayo Gaels substitute Cathal Prendergast put his mark on the game, and buried the ball to the back of The Neale's goal which received a deafening roar from the stand. The Gaels were well and truly on top at this stage, a free from The Neale in the dying minutes of injury time, left a final scoreline of Mayo Gaels 4-7 The Neale 0-8.
Well done to our players and management, thanks to the great support that gathered and also joined the team on their journey back to Abbey Park. There is great things yet to come with this group of players. We also would like to wish a speedy recovery to Ethan Henry, who hopefully we'll have back on the field again in no time.
Mayo Gaels team: Cormac Henry, Nathan McGurrin, Nathan Lavelle, Ruairi Henry, Brian Morrin, David Brennan, Ruairi Keane, Sean Keane, Sean Joyce, Alan Brennan, Phelim Prendergast, Myles Durkan, David Quinn, Ethan Henry, Jack Fallon. Substitutes: Jarlath Judge, Luke Gallagher, Adam Oates, Colum Morley, Cathal Prendergast,