U16 footballers triumph in Gerry Reilly tournament

November 8, 2018

U16 footballers triumph in Gerry Reilly tournament

27 Aug 2012 |

Dublin’s under-16 footballers captured the Gerry Reilly football tournament for the fourth time in the county’s history when they defeated hosts Meath in Sunday night’s final in Oldcastle.
First half goals from Colm Basquel and Seán O’Meara had the young Dubs 2-6 to 0-5 to the good at the interval.
Meath battled back on the restart with full-forward Dara Rowe causing problems for the Dublin defence.
However, Warren Egan restored Dublin’s seven-point lead when he fired to the net following a superb run from Eoin Murchan.
It proved to be the crucial scores despite a late Meath goal.

SCORERS – Dublin: C Basquel 1-5 (0-4f), S O’Meara, W Egan 1-0 each, G O’Reilly, C Sallier, A Byrne 0-1 each. Meath: D Rowe 0-6 (0-4f), S Cummiskey 1-0, S Duffy 0-2, P Darcy, B McGrath, S Power 0-1 each.
DUBLIN: D Rafferty; E Duffy, A Foley, S Ward; D Connolly, E Murchan, A Fee; A Fitzgerald, S Clayton; G O’Reilly, C Basquel, C Sallier; S O’Meara, C O’Callaghan, A Byrne. Subs: J Mullins for Ward (24), W Egan for O’Meara (38), E Whelan for Sallier (47).
MEATH: J Lynch; R McDonagh, G McGowan, D Ormsby; J Reilly, S Crosbie, H Purcell; S Power, K Dixon; S Duffy, S Cummiskey, C Leddy; B McGrath, D Rowe, P Darcy. Subs: D Brady for Reilly (28), B Harnan for Leddy (h-t), C O’Neill for Darcy (h-t), D McGuinness for McGrath (50).
REF: F Kelly (Longford)

Winners of the Gerry Reilly Cup to date:
Westmeath 1990, 1992, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2010, 2011
Meath 1989, 1991, 1995, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2007
Cavan 1997, 2004, 2006
Dublin 1993, 1998, 2008 (U-17 Blitz), 2012
Gerry Reilly
This tournament commemorates Gerry Reilly who died tragically in December ’87 at 16 years of age, and he had already proved to be a great footballer with huge potential to go on to great heights in the game.