U16FC, Edenderry 1-02 Clara 2-12

November 8, 2018


Edenderry under 16’s travelled to Clara last Friday evening to take on the home side in the Championship. After a poor performance from The Reds, they lost out on a scoreline of 2-12 to 1-02.

Clara opened up an early six point lead when they scored a goal and three points. Edenderry’s opening score came from Sean Doyle who scored a very good point. Edenderry were unfortunate not to score a second point shortly after when a free from Peter O’Neill hit the post. Clara scored the next point, before Peter O’Neill responded with a pointed free, which was awarded for a foul on Sean Doyle. The Edenderry management then introduced Evan Kelly in place of James Pollard. But Clara scored a further two points before the break to give them an interval lead of seven points.

Halftime, Edenderry 0-02 Clara 1-06.

The second half continued much like the first with Clara dominating. They scored the first two points after the break, before Shane Cronin was introduced for Cormac Hurley, with Shane going into the backs and Sean Moriarty moving up front. Edenderry then scored a goal when Peter O’Neill sent a high ball into the Clara square where Daniel Nolan went highest to field a very good ball, before he turned to send an unstoppable shot to the Clara net. Clara then scored a goal and a point, before Shane Hayes denied Clara a third goal when he made an excellent save. Stephen Dillon was then brought into the action for Jason Farrell, before Clara added two more points. Peter O’Neill then struck the woodwork for the second time in the game, this time he nearly scored a goal only for his shot to come back off the crossbar. The last score of the game went to Clara as they scored a good point.

Edenderry will be bitterly disappointed with their performance, after they put in some good displays against Moorefield, Celbridge and Round Towers of Kildare in recent challenge games. Edenderry’s next game will be at home to Ferbane/Belmont on Monday 4th May at 7.30pm.

Team: Shane Hayes; Shane Steel, Gary Blong, Declan Fitzpatrick; Sean Moriarty, Andrew Forde, Peter Connolly; Daniel Nolan (1-0), Peter O’Neill (0-1); Aaron O’Connell, Cian Lawton, James Pollard; Cormac Hurley, Sean Doyle (0-1), Jason Farrell.

Substitutes: Shane Cronin, Stephen Coffey, Stephen Dillon, Brian Moules, John McCormack, Eoghan Kelliher, Evan Kelly.

Referee: Noel Cooney.