U16s defeat Rhode

November 8, 2018

Edenderry U16’s got their campaign off to a great start with a 14 point victory over near neighbours Rhode.

Edenderry had the aid of the wind in the first half but it was Rhode who owned possession in the first few minutes. Luckily for Edenderry they didnt make it count and soon enough the reds settled into the game, opening a five point lead.

Rhode registered their first score of the game but Edenderry hit back with another five points to leave the score 0-10 to 0-1 with half time approaching. Edenderry were performing very well with Mikie Clear running riot in the forwards. At the back Edenderry were very solid with Ross Mangan, Adam Mahon and Matthew O’Grady halting the majority of Rhode’s attacks.

Rhode did register another two scores before Edenderry got their final point of the half to leave the half time score 0-11 to 0-3.

Second half

Rhode started the second half the stronger and with the aid of the breeze kicked three unanswered points to reduce the deficit to five points. Fortuntaley for the reds that would be the last of Rhode’s points for the night and goals from Mikie Clear, Aaron McDonnell and Oran Lawton put the game beyond doubt. The young reds pointed another 3 points to stretch their lead to 17 points but Rhode scored a goal in the dying minutes to leave 14 points between the sides at full time. Overall Edenderry deserved their victory and it is a great start to the championship campaign.

On the night everyone played well for Edenderry and tried very hard. The backs were excellent with Matthew O’Grady in particular excelling at full back, cutting out Rhode’s attacks on numerous occasion. Aaron McDonnell & Craig Monaghan were dominant in midfield while all six forwards played well and when possession was lost they worked hard to regain it. Mikie Clear was a constant thorn in Rhode’s side with his pace and skill causing problems all night.

Team Sheet:

Cain Brereton, Karl Murphy, Matthew O’Grady, David Hughes, Mark Abbott, Ross Mangan(0-1), Adam Mahon(0-1), Aaron McDonnell(1-3, 2f), Craig Monaghan, Ciaran Farrell(0-2), Mikie Clear(1-3), Leslie Nolan(0-2), Alex Kenny, Oran Lawton(1-1), Jamie Dolan(0-1)