November 7, 2018

Naas put in a tremendous second half performance in which they scored twelve points to four for Athy  to proceed to the next round of the U21 championship. Naas started well and led 0 – 5 to 0 – 1 after ten minutes. Athy fought back and were two points down when goaled in the 24th. minute to give them the lead 1 – 4 to 0 – 6. At the interval the sides were level although Naas were unlucky not to be  in front.

Naas opened the scoring in the first minute with a Darragh Merriman free. This was followed by a John Joyce point and a Brian Byrne “45”. Two Dean McHolmes points for Naas were countered by two Athy points from Tony Martin and Tadhg Foley. Athy points from Rory Feely and Tony Martin reduced the arrears to a point. McHolmes was on target again for Naas to put two between them.

Athy took the lead when Ciaran Hyland took advantage of some poor Naas defending to put the ball in the net. A 25th minute point from Aidan Begley levelled matters. The half ended with Feely and McHolmes swapping points.

Naas dominated the first ten minutes of the second half scoring five unanswered points from Paul McDermott, Aidan Begley , Darragh Merriman(2) and Brian Byrne. Foley (Athy) and Merriman (Naas) swapped points before Tony Martin got two in a row for Athy. After fifteen minutes Naas had a three point lead o – 14 to 1 – 8.

Naas controlled the last fifteen minutes . A Merriman point followed by two from substitute Ciaran Doyle, two Merriman frees and a McHolmes point left Naas in a commanding position. Athy tried hard for a goal but a Feely point was their only response.

Naas: Luke Mullins, David Shaw, Shane Gibbons, Johnny Heavey, Conor McCarthy, Brian Byrne(0 – 2), Adam Cronin, Paul McDermott(0 – 1), Eoghan Bateman, Darragh Merriman(0 – 7), Barry Murphy, John Joyce(0 – 1), Aidan Begley(0 – 2), Rory McDermott, Dean McHolmes(0 – 5), Sub: Ciaran Doyle (0 – 2).

Athy: Mark Prior, Donal McGrath, Mark Hyland, David Kelly, David Considine , John Moran, James Keegan, Paschal Connell, Rory Feely(0 – 3), Fintan Lawlor, Tony Martin(0 – 4), Kieran Farrell, Shane Coffey, Tadhg Foley(0 – 2), Ciaran Hyland(1 – 0).

Referee: Liam Herbert.