U21s lose out in county final thriller

November 8, 2018

U21 County Final
Cappawhite/Treacys played South Champions Moyle Rovers in Cashel on Sunday 25th in the county U21 final.

We got off to a good start when Brian Carey cleverly played a free to Sean Ryan in a central position who made no mistake from 40 yards out to open our account. It was tit for tat in the opening period and Sean Ryan was exerting great influence from midfield as he led our charge with 3 points in the opening quarter. Moyle Rovers were proving to be no pushovers however and their positioning of Stephen Quirke on the edge of the square was paying dividends as his colleagues were finding space and time to deliver top quality ball. Willie Mackey was coping admirably with the threat but the inevitable occurred mid-way through the first half when the ball was sent to our net.

Frees from Brian Carey and a good score from the hard working Brian Carew kept us in touch but Moyle Rovers were splitting the posts with ease and we were constantly fighting a rear-guard action. A driving run through the middle from Pat Deegan lifted the siege and Carey again rounded off the first half scoring with a pointed free.

We needed to start the 2nd half well but it was Moyle Rovers took the initiative as Quirke, now out on the 40, was unerring from frees. Within 11 minutes we had fallen 7 points behind and were making little headway. Throwing caution to the wind our centre back, Sean Ryan (Cappa) was sent to assist in the forwards and began to make immediate inroads however we were now rueing missed opportunities from play and frees. From then to the end we slowly reeled in the South championships with both Sean Ryan’s taking the game by the scruff of the neck. It was too little too late though as Moyle Rovers hung on at the death and a free from Quirke sealed matters on a scoreline of 1-14 to 0-15.

Our thanks to team and management for their efforts in bringing us to a west title and playing a massive part in what was a thrilling game. 

The team lined out as follows: David Orr (C), Donal O’Neill (C), Willie Mackey, David Stapleton (C), Andy O’Brien, Sean Ryan (C) 0-05, Emmet Ryan, Pat Deegan 0-01, Sean Ryan 0-05, Sean Hickey, Kevin Stapleton (C), Matt Feehan, Brian Carey 0-03, Shane Fahy, Brian Carew (C) 0-01. Subs: Darragh Kennedy, Fergal Ryan (C), Eanna Heffernan (C), Jim O’Dwyer (C), Darragh Clancy (C), Eimhin O’Meara (C), Dylan Fahey, Tommy Ryan, Michael Leahy (C), Liam McCarthy (C) James Deegan.

Lucky Dip Winners
€50 Padraig Shortt, Upperchurch.
€25 T.J. Hickey, Upperchurch.
€25 Joe Ryan J , Rossmore.
€25 Michael Murphy, Foilduff.
€25 The Ponda Girls, Annacarty.
€25 David Morkam, Templemore.