Under-14's Are County Champions!

November 7, 2018

In a game of high skill that will live long in the memory Urhan were crowned Under-14 Count Champions today in Kealkill. Well done to all concerned on a proud day for our club. Oircheann Abú!!!



Any thoughts of big-day nerves for Urhan were dispelled in the first few minutes as Philip O’ Shea pointed on Urhan’s very first move and Joe O’ Sullivan goaled smartly after breaking free up the left.

Cill na Martra settled quickly too and Cillian O’ Shea had to be at his best to block down a certain goal as the Muskerry men came knocking. Andrew O’ Neill tacked on another for Urhan after eight minutes.

Immediately, the skilful Cill na Martra men broke in numbers yet again, worked the ball free on the right and goaled beautifully from there. Three minutes later two further points had them level. 1-02 apiece and only twelve minutes gone!

It was then the turn of the backs to excel, both Cill na Martra and Urhan reshuffling their defences to great effect. Urhan were to hold firm for another sixteen minutes, Simon Harrison pulling off a fine save in the process. In the meantime, their forwards were also finding it tough to score.

The breakthrough came on twenty minutes. Another move up the right was worked closer to goal. Cillian O’ Shea got loose, was found and was fouled. Philip O’ Shea’s penalty shot hit the net and Urhan’s lead was restored.

There followed a slew of wides for both sides, but on twenty-eight minutes Luke O’ Sullivan broke free and goaled in style. Two further point chances were presented to each side, Urhan spurned theirs, Cill na Martra didn’t, and the half-time score was Urhan 3-02 Cill na Martra 1-04.

Even with the strengthening wind to come it was a slender lead for Urhan, and so it was to prove in a second half of pace and skill. Urhan struck first – a great goal, set up by Philip O’ Shea for the raiding Joe O’ Sullivan after two minutes. Only two minutes later Cill na Martra gave Urhan’s impressive goalie Simon Harrison no chance with a ferociously struck goal.

Urhan were now edging the possession stakes with each of their backs coming to the fore. However, Cill na Martra turned the tide yet again with a fabulous goal followed up instantly by a smashing point from out on the right. The game was level with twenty to go Urhan 4-2 Cill na Martra 3-05.

The Muskerry men grew stronger and looked the more dangerous now. Crucially, though they were forced to shoot under pressure. Three efforts at points sailed wide; a goal-bound shot hit a wall of red. And when the deadlock was broken it was Urhan who managed it. A great team move from the full back line all the way up the pitch found Philip O’ Shea who floated a beautiful pass to Andrew O’ Neill. Goal! When Ciarán O’ Sullivan boomed a beautiful long-range point from out on the left Urhan led by four with a quarter to go.

Cill na Martra displayed heroic resilience to come at Urhan again. By now, however, the breaks were going in favour of Urhan who, with substitute Cathal O’ Sullivan showing well, threw everything into a last push for home. A trio of points from Philip O’ Shea from the fifty-first to the fifty-third minute put Urhan seven up and firmly in the driving seat. When the same player hit again with only two minutes to go, it seemed to have crowned Urhan champions. Not surprisingly, tough, and entirely fittingly, the brave men from Cill na Martra goaled. One more attack for them foundered, and the whistle was blown on a fine game of football between two teams matched in skill and heart. Final Score Urhan 5-07 Cill na Martra 4-05.

Congratulations to Urhan who were crowned County Champions for 2012, but congratulations to both teams on an enjoyable and honest game of football.

Urhan Team: Simon Harrison; Patrick Daly, Conor O’ Sullivan; Alan O’ Donoghue, Danny O’ Neill (c), Luke O’ Sullivan; Cillian O’ Shea; Andrew O’ Neill, Joe O’ Sullivan, Ciarán O’ Sullivan; Philip O’ Shea, Paudie O’ Leary.

Subs: Brendan Duggan, Kevin Dwyer, Gary Hartnett, Emmet Lyons, Gearóid O’ Shea, Cathal O’ Sullivan (for Luke O’ Sullivan), Ryan Quirke, Jack Shea